It made a hole

Richie2K

Reaction score
Hey,

First off I'm not technical so apologies for non technical jargon. :)

I have an 05 B7 Audi A4 2L TFSi

Right to cut a long story short my Oil Pressure light came on and not long after my car
stalled. AA turned up to take me home. Oil all over road but not totally drained.

Get back and there's a hole in what I thought was the engine block, ah ...

Get a self taught friend over who is a dab hand and we work out that its not the engine
as such but a casing which houses what we now know the Cam Chain Tensioner (again
excuse my technical names etc).

The chain had gone but where the hole is we could see one of the Cogs which the chain
should be wrapped around. Anyway ... he goes about taking things apart, first removing
the rocker cover to asses the damage (only by sight for obvious damage) yes we accept
there maybe more damage elsewhere but from his experience with engines he said it all
looked ok.

Obviously through all this and still now I'm praying she'll be ok :s

Right .. so with that he takes off this rear housing (the bit with the hole in it) off to asses
the damage in there (was a bit of a pain to remove but tis done now). Oh, we dropped a
screwdriver bit through to the floor pan (which we got back) and whilst retrieving it found
the Cam Chain, with a break in it ofc. So we take the back piece off and the Tensioner
plastic part had shattered, in bits, lots of them. One of the cogs, the one on the left as
you look at it, I think its the Exhaust something, has some damaged teeth.

Right so my question is, I'm hoping and yes really really praying that I can change the
damaged parts and all will be ok. I've feared the worst and been to hell and back a million
times today.

From how we see it I need, a Cam Chain Tensioner, a Cam Chain, a new Cog bit. and the
casing this all sits in.

It is my intention to call Audi tomz and get these bits ordered (if I can) but I'm going in