Gear selection problem!!

t111bul

Reaction score
Hi,

I have a 2005 2.0Tfsi Quattro and it is dificult to get in 1st, 2nd and 3rd gear but especially 2nd gear but only on the upchange. Is it time for the for an oil change? Is there a oil treatment i can use use or is there a problem with the gearbox?
Has anyone else had the same problem?

Thanks

Tim

Hi Tim

I'm no expert, but a few quick questions that might help you get a reply from someone who is!
1) I'm guessing its a manual?
2) when was the oil changed before? (if ever!)
3) what sort of mileage is the car?
4) Are the gears grinding, when you change?
5) I'm guessing the clutch is fine if you can change it other gears ok?

Not an answer to you question I know (sorry!!) but might help us, to help you! :)

Hi,

Yes the car is manual, pretty sure the oil has never been changed(only had the car a couple of week), the car has done 59000, the gear do grind a bit as bit when selected and th clutch seems strong.

Hi, I had a similar problem on my car (2.0 TDI 170 Quattro) found it difficult to select 2nd gear.... sometimes it wouldn't go, so had to go straight into 3rd.
As the car was under warranty, they tried loads of things:
Put in a gearbox oil additive..... no good!
Changed the gearbox oil.......... no good!
Changed 2nd gear & synchro.... no good!

Eventually, it was solved by adjusting the selector mechanism!!! (I don't know how, but that's what it was)

Thanks marky67 the selector sounds like a good place to start. Does anyone know how the selector is adjusted?

It may be totally irrelevant, I find when we have days of prolonged cold weather its clunky getting into 1st and 2nd however in the milder weather (Above 10 degrees) its smooth.

Strange I know but it’s something I’ve got used to