Audi A6 Estate 2.5TDI 2000reg intermittent start problems

Khi

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm a noob to this forum, but I'd really appreciate any adive or help you knowledgeable people could give me.

I've recently bought a 2000 reg Audi A6 estate, and it's pretty obviously I've been done by the last owner. I'll try to describe the syptoms as best I can.

When I met them to buy it, the engine was running, so I turned it off to let it cool for a bit. Started and stopped it while I inspected the vehicle but could find nothing too untoward. I then drove 5 hours from Wales back to Brighton with no issue (I once stopped and turned the engine off to refuel at a fuel station).

We drove it on and off the next couple of days with no issue, then suddenly one morning it wouldn't start. It turned over repeatedly, however wouldn't fire. The battery eventually ran pretty low so I had to stop trying. A few days later we hookep up the jump leads to a mates car, and it turned over for aaages, then suddenly fired! I turned it off, then started it again no worries. I waited till late that night to go out and start it once more, and again it started no problem. A couple days later we drove it around, put loads of diesel in it, filled the screen wash etc, then parked it again. The next day, once again it wouldn't start.

It is booked to go into the garage, but I'm trying to think of everything I could to help the guy find the fault.