2.5 tdi 1998 EGR ? ?

cubleymatt

Reaction score
Hello !!

im a newbie here so please be gental !!

I have been reading the forum trying to work out how to get back the performance that im sure my car used to have ! !

some times its ok but other times i could run faster than the car and thats saying somthing as im a big bloke ! other times it seems to have a real dead spot in the rev range.

Reading this fine forum im going to replace the MAF this week but there seems to be diffrent types bosch and another one ? whats the best one to go for and the best supplier ?

Also i saw that someone was running with the EGR disconnected ? will this help ? it did on my discovery with a td5 fitted, if so where do i disconect ?

so if i get the MAF and anything else sorted is there anything else i can do the get the power back ? is a K&N filter worth fitting ?

thanks for the help in advance :icon_thumright:

Matt

There is an alternative MAF made by Piemburg i think. If you browse the internet you will find a multitude of suppliers who will provide a replacement at much less than Audi will. Make sure you know exactly what model your engine is before you buy, there are variations. If you disconnect your MAF and the engine runs just the same then it is likely to be broken. Beware however that as with other electrical problems the MAf can take time to fail completely and will give intermittent problems that may not coincide with you testing it. I would recommend that you replace it anyway if your car is high mileage, it won't be too expensive say £75 and it's worth knowing that you have eliminated it when looking for problems.
I would not recommend disconnecting the EGR, but a thorough clean will help. When you take it off look at the inlet manifold, if its well coated with soot and other unmentionable gunge then take it off and clean it too.