newbie looking for advice on which audi

Siy

Reaction score
Hello everybody... a newbie here. Sorry if this is in the wrong forum!

I am venturing into audi ownership for the first time. I drive a BMW M5 (but willing to leave the dark side!)

At the moment, my wife is expecting our second child, and hence needs to change her car for something bigger.

She wants an estate, and we have always liked audi's.

I don't want it to be underpowered.... and like toys onboard - as many as possible.

Budget is only about £12k

looking for advice on what we should look for ...A4/A6 (many differences??? - clearly an audi novice!)

Would want to get something with mileage below 60,000 miles.

Am I expecting too much - what do you guys think I could get?

Thanks all in advance

An A6 4.2 (300bhp & tiptronic box), A6 2.7 (230bhp twin turbo, with 6 spd manual or tiptronic) or best of all an S6 which has the (4.2 V8 and pushes out around 340bhp. manual and auto).

the 4.2 and S6 (£12k plus, but more like £14-18k) are normally fully loaded with sat nav and electric everything.

If you want something smaller go on the A4 B5 forum and ask about the S4. There is plenty of info about the car in previous posts but its a bit of a come down from an M5. Unless its an E34 M5 in which case you'll find the quality of the A4/S4 and A6/S6 very impressive.

I dont know about the A6 but the A4 was facelifted in 1999 and the facelifted dash still looks fresh today. I'm sure the A6 was facelifted too.

If I were you I'd go and test drive an A6 4.2. £12k will buy you a very good low mileage car with Full Audi Service History. If you can find an Avant (Estate) even better, as these hold their money well and are more desirable than the salon.

Hope this helps,

Thanks Chriswt,

I will indeed be looking for an estate (just learnt that this is called an Avant - thanks!)