buying an allroad

egesford

Reaction score
im thinking of buying an allroad, is there anything in particular to look out for, i heard the 2.5tdi engine can be a bit of hassle??
and what are they like off road (i need to tow a 2 tonne trailer across fields regularly)
any opinions would be appreciated, thanks
im looking to spend around £3000

I have no direct experience of the Allroad but as a casual observation I suspect you will have issues with using it to tow a 2 Tonne Trailer across a field. The current (C6) 3.0TDi Allroad has a maximum towing limit of 2100kg on an 8% gradient and that assumes it is on tarmac not a field. Clearly once in a while you can exceed that but I wouldn't do it on a regular basis. Also to go across a field you will likely need to raise the suspension which will also affect the towing ability

At the end of the day the Allroad is a car with the ability to handle limited offroad situations, it is not a dedicated offroad vehicle in the style of an X5, Q7 or Discovery. Others with more direct experience will no doubt give you their opinions but I suspect your needs may be better served with a different type of vehicle

i have a forester at the moment which is supposed to tow 1850kg, again it has pretty poor ground clearance and is petrol but thats always been fine, just too thirsty hence thinking about the allroad. just meant grip wise off road really as the fields i have to cross can be a bit slippy, but are flat