S4 b5 brake pads

S4speed

Reaction score
Hi all

Im new here - need help/advice please

I need a new set of pads for the front of my 99 facelift S4, I have credit to use with an online retailer they do EBC, are red stuff any good?

I see the EBC listed as 97-99 and >99, they look a little different. I originally ordered Black Diamond [listed 97-01] but they don't have the locating lug on the outside pads the current pads [lucas] ones have ???

Yes Im a novice! I have my car a year but only lately am I putting spanners on it

ye there are defo differences between pre and post facelift, the calipers have a completely different anti-rattle clip on the facelift cars.

I dont like EBC personally. I'd be fitting Ferodo DS2500's or Mintex M1144's.

and if youre going to EBCs, i definately recommend yellows over reds, without a doubt

Unfortunately Mintex dont list S4 pads so i was told today

Pagid sell their "yellow" spec ones at £360 + VAT for the set (yea right!)

Looking at options, personally I dont like EBC at all.

Andy

Ye it seems the S4 pads are particularly obscure, and the change half way thru the life of the car didnt help matters either.

Personally, i'd junk the crappy B5 S4 calipers and get yourself a set of B6 S4 items.

Craig picked up a set for 80quid on ebay, the disks are 345x30mm and only 45quid each, and they use the same pads as all B6/7 Models so the selection is huge.

Had the Black Diamond Predators on for a while now, really good and well recommended.

Ye it seems the S4 pads are particularly obscure, and the change half way thru the life of the car didnt help matters either.

Personally, i'd junk the crappy B5 S4 calipers and get yourself a set of B6 S4 items.

Craig picked up a set for 80quid on ebay, the disks are 345x30mm and only 45quid each, and they use the same pads as all B6/7 Models so the selection is huge.