2.5tdi starting issue

mat_vw

Reaction score
Hi

I need a little help quite new to this engine,
In the mornings when the engine is cold turn ignition on wait for the glow plug light to go out then i turn the key then it cranks for about 15-20 sec before it springs into life.

So my question is there a fuel run off valve, which is allowing the fuel from the pump to go back to the fuel tank which in turn is taking the car long to start because it has to suck the fuel from the tank every morning.

Also a diffrent issue heater fan is playing up i have done my research on this and i have had to glove box off and undone the screws on the fan but there is a metal plate that is stopping me get the fan out which looks like it connected to the passanger airbag which i dont facy removing.

So my question is that metal plate easy to remove any links would be great.

Sorry for the long winded post, i am new to this car.

Any help would be apreciated. Many Thanks Mat. :icon_thumright:

Try checking the spill pipes from the injectors.Ive heard that starting problems can be caused by leaks or cracked pipes allowing air into the system.I amchanging mine to see if it helps.Just finished one bank and and will look at the other side at the weekend

Cheers for that, what do spill pipes look like, are you on about the pipe from the pump to the injector.

Have you had the car codes read at all on VAGcom or similar?

I don't want to scare you but there is an issue with pumps on these models..

No i have not had any code read yet, i will get that done. Been doing a bit of looking about and i am going to replace the temp sensor and glow plug relay, all glow plugs have been replaced.