Car occasionally jerks when slowing down or accelerating slowly

vesuvius

Reaction score
Hi,

Im new to Audi, just bought an A4 1.8T B5, 1997 last three weeks. Everything was perfect after I sent it for service until last week it started to jerk.

The problem is it jerks occasionally and its difficult for me to show the mechanic what the problem was.

Sent the car for that fix and they first said there was a hose leak, replaced it for about 190. 5 minutes later the problem resurfaced and I came back and changed the power unit. Still not working, then they found another hose leaking i.e. they said it was the vacuum pipe.

Thought that solved the issue but after 2 days the problem resurfaced. Any ideas?

By the way, I sent the car to Everauto(malaysia).

Forgot to mention, Im also facing a loss of power and the acceleration isnt as smooth as before and also there's a faint smell of fuel when it jerks.

Occasionally theres mild white smoke but the mechanic said its the turbo..is that true? Please advise. Tks.

check all vacuum pipes and also your recirc valve.

I found I had a hesitation when going from overun to part throttle. not enough to jerk the car but noticeable.
also noticed it when going the other way (part throttle to overun)

swapped the OEM DV for a Forge unit and the problem went. I also swapped a number of hoses and teh intercooler so it is possible it was a vacuum/boost leak as well.

Tks jcb. Checked for leaks, non apparent ones. Below are some trials the mech did to troubleshoot:

1.suspected it was the ignition coils. Replaced with temporary ones for trial & error. No luck, jerking still happens.
2.cleaned the throttle body. Jerking went worse, added variables to the prob, i.e. occasional black smoke with a strong smell of fuel. - mech says the throttle body's not in good condition, but would this cause thejerking?

Additional findings -