New audi project...

9 below zero

Reaction score
Hi, i've just bought myself a pretty standard black 1.8 a4 and i want to tidy it up a bit. I'm probably jumping on the wagon here a bit but i want the rs4 type replica wheels and to lower it but i need your help.

Will 18" replicas fit straight on on?

These;http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/18-NEW-RS4-st...s_ET?hash=item3ca5f52b16&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14

What's the cheapest way of lowering it so it looks smilar to this...

Sorry if thats your car but i like it. I've seen a few cars on here that look as if they are lower in the back than on the front. how do you stop this?

What replicas should i avoid?

Cheers!

The replicas you link to should work fine, and they will generally go on without any mods so long as you get the correct fitment.

As for the lowering, it really depends how much you want to spend. I'm a fan of eibachs pro-kit springs, bit pricier that some of the others but they're good quality.

http://www.lr90.org/gallery2/main.php?g2_itemId=288

Thats a pic of craigs S4 fitted with an eibach pro-kit as an example.

The nose up stance you talk about often happens on the stock springs, especially on quattros, as the rear springs are prone to sagging/breaking. If you go for a pro-kit, be aware that they list two kits for a 1.8, one with and one without aircon. I suspect that you really want the "without aircon" kit regardless, as the "with" kit is really aimed at the heavier engined vehicles.

If you want the absolutely cheapest method, then get yourself on ebay and buy some 40mm lowering springs.

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Jamex-Lowerin...s_SM?hash=item53d8755fa0&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14

Something like that will do the job.

Cheers for the help mate!

Yes I am on a bit of a budget so i think it will be the latter of the two sping options. But what i don't want to do is waste money on the cheapest wheels and springs and it ending up looking like a cheap copy.