S4 vs 3000GT

jxm96c

Reaction score
Website
www.drmong.plus.com
Had a go in a 3000GT (actually imported GTO) over the weekend and man... what a car!!! Has anyone tried that out? How does that compare to the S4, and I mean say a 99/00 3GT and S4, as they're costing about the same. The 3GT has 300bhp under the hood and it sprints to 60 in 5.46s, in stats the S4 has 265 and does about the same sort of acceleration, but being quite a heavy car and both 4wd I don't see how with less bhp the S4 can out run the 3GT at the lights? I've never tried an S4 before so I couldn't say, but if you have please advice as I'm seriously considering a new fast car for Oct now.

/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif

Jules

its all about what your after...

Do you want 4 doors and a car that both sophisticated ladies and the lads like? The S4 would be the one...

Further, the S4 is easy to squeeze power out of being a turbo charged car. Your likely to make it out that next bend in the S4 too... good luck with the GTO!

Parts, local knowledge etc... only one choice for me!

I found GTO specs and S4 specs can be found on here somewhere. Gear ratios can make cars perform diferently. These two cars have nearly identical final drive gearing, but the S4 is shorter (better for acceleration) in 1st, 4th 5th and 6th. 0-60 usually only uses 1st, 2nd and maybe 3rd. They also have different sized tires, which affect gear ratios. The S4s 224/45 17 is about 25 inches in diameter where the GTOs 245/40 18 is almost 3/4 of an inch larger. That means the GTOs tires require more torque in order to get them rolling.