B5 1.8t running issues! Help PLEASE!

s11pyk1234

Reaction score
Hi, Im new to this and have just bought my second ever Audi, great news you think! No, its broken!!!!!
I was driving it home on the motorway and when i put my foot down fully it started to feel like it cut out for a second then accelerate, cut out accelerate until i took my foot off, could hear the turbo spool up and it felt ok? Once off the motorway it seems to have no power more 1.4 than 1.8turbo? when setting off the revs drop to nothing and you have to slip the clutch to get going and under acceleration it just cuts out (cars like a kangaroo up the road)
Any help or ideas as to what this could be will be greatly appreciated, or give me 800 quid and take the problem away lol! Thanks in advance!:blackrs4:

Hi mate what is the age/spec of the car?
It could be as simple as a pipe off somewhere, or a faulty N75 valve.

Its a 95 Nreg 1.8t sport, i believe its standard, some history and it has 105k on the clock, it has a 99 interior so no wear to verify the mileage although the steering wheel is very shiny so it could be more! Im no mechanic and am afraid this is gonna be my mk1 golf all over again! how do i check the n75 valve? il get it checked over to see if there are any loose pipes, thanks

Vagcom is a useful investment. You can pick up a lead on ebay as a starter for about a tenner which allows you to access the fault codes stored in the ECU. Unlike the mk1 golf, the audi may well know whats wrong with itself already ;)

The car will fuel cut if the N75 isnt working or if the actuator is disconnected or not working. So look alongside the turbo, and you will see a cylinder thing with a rod on it, the cylinder end should have a vacuum pipe on it connected to a T piece thing with wires on it ( this is the N75) then the other end of the N75 should go to the turbo housing.

Thats what i would first look for. Its not uncommon for pipes to rot off and perish