buying an a4 b5 95-01

Rutter

Reaction score
family friend bringing one up for me to look at tonight, but iv never drove an audi before so i have very little experience..

its a 95 1.6 petrol
138,000 miles (im assured they are mainly motorway miles)
first 5 years service history from an audi dealer
the rest done by his brother who is a qualified mechanic
bodywork is mint, electronics are mint (other than the two front e/w motors have seized)
it runs perfect "apparently" , so im gonna test drive it later see why i think

but im getting for £500 (mates rates xD) no tax mot til june

bargin?

Cheap enough but you may find the 1.6 underpowered. Look out for creaks and groans from the front suspension. the front motors being seized, hhhmmmm not so sure, they tend to suffer with slider failiure and the easiest way to fix hat is to replace the whole window mech and/or the whole top of the door ( easiest way) as the top part needs removing iirc to repalce the mech

right anything else i should look for, hes on his way now so if i can get a few tips in asap that would be cool.

Alright mate congrats on your new A4, I dont want to be rude but I would have thought a 1.6 is pretty under powered as these cars are failry heavy, I sometimes think that my V6 could do with a little more grunt to move her.

Hope you enjoy your new purchase.

Matt

agree what he says ^^^^^
congrats on your purchase post some :sign_pics:

Ye i did think the 1.6 would be a bit limp, although from what i've heard they can acutally seem better to drive than the 1.8 NA due to them being 8v meaning the torque it does have comes it in a bit further down the revs.

Can always drop a bigger motor in, or buy a larger engined model later and transfer over any mods.

yea thats what i intend to do, besides i cant get insured at the moment on anything bigger than a 1.6 xD