hi im new to audi's

marky_g

marky_g
Reaction score
hi im new to the audi seen it looks pretty big and friendly..........looking to buy my first in the next few months

ive currently got 3 fords lol there al costing me a fortune to run and the a4 looks like a stylish and hopefuly echonimical car lol

gonna break myself in gently with about £1000's worth of a4 lol

is there anything thing i should be awar of?

what is high millage for a4 (b5) on a p/r reg

im after the face lift version with the nicer rear lights

any advice would be grate

need to know where to buy lowering springs and stuff too lol:rockwoot:

Hiya! Welcome to the site :beerchug:

I'm sure you'll find the folks on here a friendly and helpful bunch - I've been here for a while now and it's a great place for help, advice and a bit of banter too!

I guess the issues that you might want to look out for vary from model to model, so do you have a particular engine type in mind?

A common problem with the B5s are suspension bushes; they've got a multi-link suspension setup up front with eight arms, and the bushes tend to wear leading to allsorts of clunking and banging coming from the suspension. That's a common one but not the end of the world. There are other things to look out for too, but as I say some will only apply to certain models...

Mileage on P/R plate B5s can vary wildy, there are plenty about toward the 200,000 end of the spectrum; but on the other hand I picked up a late R-plate 1.9TDI last February to be my 'workhorse' with one owner, fAsh, and just 68,000 miles (I've put 60,000 on it since then though!). They're pretty resiliant motors and so long as they get a little bit of TLC as is required are good for serious mileage.