Rear electric windows

Assassin

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm a newbie to this forum and the Audi A4.

I've just bought a 2.8 quattro, which hasn't got rear electric windows, strikes me as weird that a car costing 30 grand brand new hasn't, it seems to have everything else leather, climate, etc.

How easy would it be to convert the manual windows to electric, I was thinking about sourcing the parts from a scrapyard. Not sure if other A4's come with them as standard and what parts I would need?

Thanks in advance. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif

Hello mate

This week I added climate to an A4 - the wiring isnt too abd actually, and the colour codes seem to be constant between 95-99 which is a great help. It's a case of tracing the wires and splicing into your current loom.

You will need the door look from the drivers door from a 4x e/w car. The dash needs to come out also. Be prepared to spend every night for a week doing this, and your car will be off the road in the day too!

Thanks for your replies...

Does seem to be a major hassle adding rear electric windows. I'll have to live with manual ones and I suppose the chrome winders do look kinda cool. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif

Who cares about the rear passengers. They'd only fiddle with them - especially if you got kids in which case you'd spend most of the time with lock on them! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif

Mine is the same. A 1999 2.8 30V Quattro Tiptronic saloon, with manual rear windows. I looked up the car's spec on the My Audi section of the Audi.uk website. It shows that the first owner specifically ordered the car without rear electric windows. i.e. It was a delete option for a normally standard equipment item, presumably at reduced cost (although you can never tell with "these crazy Germans". Sounds like too much work to me, but if you do decide to try it, let us know how you get on.

What the hell is a "delete option"?