Monster MotorsportSky Insurance
    1st Gear

Status

S4 Engine Removal

So i have some new Turbo's to put on, and i know the engine has to come out, so i have already started and nearly at the point of removal.

What i need is somebody who has done this before to tell me best way to take it out, my scenario is i am at home in my garage, i have a Engine Lift.

So what my best option, seperate from bell housing and do it that way, or remove shafts and take out whole thing inc gearbox?

thanks in advance

2. # ADS
    ADS

6th Gear

Status
    I've taken mine out twice now. Remove driveshafts, undo gear linkages and pull whole engine and gearbox. Only pull it out a few inches first, then you can disconnect the clutch slave cylinder from the gearbox.

I did a detailed write-up on SRS - AudiSRS.com :: ScottR's B5 S4 DIY Engine Pull - Project Thunder

I was a complete novice, so i've pointed out a number of the issues that I faced and how I got around them.
    Mo power, mo problems

1st Gear

Status
    Quote Originally Posted by Blue_Thunder View Post
    I've taken mine out twice now. Remove driveshafts, undo gear linkages and pull whole engine and gearbox. Only pull it out a few inches first, then you can disconnect the clutch slave cylinder from the gearbox.

I did a detailed write-up on SRS - AudiSRS.com :: ScottR's B5 S4 DIY Engine Pull - Project Thunder

I was a complete novice, so i've pointed out a number of the issues that I faced and how I got around them.
    this is great stuff, many thanks mate

6th Gear

Status
    And be careful when reinstalling the engine...

Oops!
    Mo power, mo problems

1st Gear

Status
    Quote Originally Posted by Blue_Thunder View Post
    And be careful when reinstalling the engine...

Oops!
    Oh Crap, will do

6th Gear

Status
    I had to LOL!

My neighbour and I virtually knocked the car off 4 axle stands when we were trying to ram the engine back in place!