S4 Engine Removal

tonybolony

Reaction score
So i have some new Turbo's to put on, and i know the engine has to come out, so i have already started and nearly at the point of removal.

What i need is somebody who has done this before to tell me best way to take it out, my scenario is i am at home in my garage, i have a Engine Lift.

So what my best option, seperate from bell housing and do it that way, or remove shafts and take out whole thing inc gearbox?

thanks in advance

I've taken mine out twice now. Remove driveshafts, undo gear linkages and pull whole engine and gearbox. Only pull it out a few inches first, then you can disconnect the clutch slave cylinder from the gearbox.

I did a detailed write-up on SRS - AudiSRS.com :: ScottR's B5 S4 DIY Engine Pull - Project Thunder

I was a complete novice, so i've pointed out a number of the issues that I faced and how I got around them.

I've taken mine out twice now. Remove driveshafts, undo gear linkages and pull whole engine and gearbox. Only pull it out a few inches first, then you can disconnect the clutch slave cylinder from the gearbox.

I did a detailed write-up on SRS - AudiSRS.com :: ScottR's B5 S4 DIY Engine Pull - Project Thunder

I was a complete novice, so i've pointed out a number of the issues that I faced and how I got around them.

this is great stuff, many thanks mate

And be careful when reinstalling the engine...

Oops!
2012-06-02123028.jpg

I had to LOL!

My neighbour and I virtually knocked the car off 4 axle stands when we were trying to ram the engine back in place!

Other daft things to watch out for that either did or could have caught me out:
1) Don't forget to undo the earth strap under the driver's side chassis leg
2) Don't forget to undo the shifter linkages (I ended up having to hunt around for the circlip which went pinging out when I tried to pull the whole shifter assembly out through the front of the car!)