Sky InsuranceBadger5
    1st Gear

Status

Clutch replacement info / guide please

Its about time the clutch got done on me car, 1.8 1999 Treg A4 not sure of the engine code... i've never done one before.. but am confident going from instructions / diagrams. can this be done on my drive or does it need to be in the air? would rather keep the costs down and do it myself and also more importantly to learn then to take it to a garage.

also what clutch would i need... dont want to go and get the wrong one
    tools needed?

Cheers chaps
    Last edited by Steve_D; 22nd January 2013 at 06:51.
    If i told you i have to kill you, but i could give you a clue and just rough you up a bit!

2. # ADS
    ADS

6th Gear

Status
    Possible to do it on the ground, but the gearbox has a hell of a lot of weight so you would struggle to get the box back in. If you’re going down the diy route your best option is engine out, is sound bad but on the 1.8 it straight forward. In respect to instructions / diagrams get yourself a copy of elsawin of ebay.

1st Gear

Status
    really!! engine out!!

Would a trolly jack be able to drop the box and put it back in (thats what i was thinking lol) but im not questioning your knowledge, just sweeing if their is another way other than taking the engine out... really dunna fancy that one... although it would be nice to have the thing out, always wanted to blast the bay and tighten up some small rattles (them flappy heat sheilds)
    If i told you i have to kill you, but i could give you a clue and just rough you up a bit!

Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

Status
    If you take engine out there is alot of things that can be done with ease whilst its out ie mounts, timing belt, new coolant and water pump, thermostat, block breather anything really if you want to be doing and funds are available it will save taking all the front end off in the near future.

ive got access to ramps so never really struggle when it comes to jobs like this.