51 plate 2.5Tdi - excessive engine vibration

car4kids

Reaction score
Hi - I'm new to Audis and new here... hoping someone might be able to point me in the right direction. Any help would be hugely appreciated.

Car:
2.5 V6 Tdi (180) AKE engine code (I think)
60,000 miles
2001 51 plate
has been bumped in the back (chap that repaired it sold it to me) needed new bumper and boot lid so more than a parking accident but nothing too serious.
Quattro, Manual
Timing belt & service just a few days ago

Problem:
Excessive engine noise and vibration at idle - vibration can be felt thorugh steering and whole car rumbles at idle.
Noise sounds like a loud ticking
Seems to disapear (or be drowned out) at anything over 25mph
Engine has occasional misfire (once every 10 miles, just on rolling off accelerator and is barely noticeable)
Everything else is normal and is incredibly quiet car - not even a dashboard rattle and it is ten years old - so would be great to solve the problem.

Main dealer VW have been servicing the car and say the noise doesn't seem too bad to them - chap who sold me the car seems to think it is normal too. It is no better after service and no worse after nearly 1,000 miles.

Currently the temperature guage doesn't read above 55 deg C which is obviously a fault and is being tackled with a new water temp. sensor. Fuel guage is totally eratic but trip computer is acurate. Can't image that is related but just in case!

VW's suggestion was to replace engine mounts - but when I said OK they have tried to talk me out of it as it may not fix the problem and would probably be costly. I trust their honesty but with this being an Audi I am not sure they have experience or right diagnostic kit to have confidence in their own judgement.

Car is superb so would be great to get this little niggle fixed - if anyone has any ideas I'd be keen to hear. Thanks!