The 'Sludge' thing

NineNails

Proud sponsor of the snack food industry
Reaction score
Hiya
I've had years of Audi ownership but just got a 1.8t (AJL engine) I'm a proper green newbie when it comes to this engine and it's my first turbo car so I certainly know stuff all.
I've read a bit on the sludge problem and am now paranoid as hell my engine is about to die a horrible death.
It's got full service history but the oils not been changed at 5k all the time and I think it's also been on a 'Long Life' service schedule (whatever the hell that is...)
Is there a way to tell of any impending doom on the horizon? The inside of the filler cap has some hard black (what looks like) carbon built up on it...Should I be worrying??
Si.

Drain half the oil and refill with diesel fuel. Start engine. Get up to temp. Increase revs to 2k at 1 min intervals. Do this 3 times. Drain the mixture straight away. Watch the sh1t pour out. Do this every 15-20k for a sludge free engine. Change the oil every 5k using 5w-40 fully synthetic. If you stay on top of it you will not have a sludge problem.

if youre feeling brave id be tempted to get the sump down and clean up the oil pump pick up

Step 1 is an oil pressure guage imo, the stock warning light is next to useless.

Step 2 depends on the oil pressure.

If the pressure is normal, then i'd just change the oil, if you want you can always do a minor flush (drain out half a litre of oil, and put half a litre of diesel or kerosine in instead, run for 10 mins at 1500-2000rpm, then shut off and drain) then refill with 5w40 synth perhaps a little bit of ATF in there for good measure and then change it after 1k to get rid of any remaining *****., then just do normal oil changes after that every 5k, or earlier if the oil starts to turn black.