Which A4?

madmiketyson

Reaction score
Hi. New to the site, found it recommended whilst googling for information on my next car!

So, Ive been driving a Lexus IS200 for the last two years and Ive grown bored of it. After looking around, Ive set my heart on buying an A4 cabriolet.

Im 22 and have been driving for 2 and a half years. I had 2 years no claims discount until some tool on a moped went through my back end a few months back.....my insurance company want me to settle 70-30 in my favour......but thats another issue for another time!!!

So Ill have zero no claims discount but my insurance company want between £600-900 extra dependant on the engine so that isnt a major issue for me.......a more pressing concern is what the car will cost me once bought and insured. I have never had a problem with my IS200....the only times it has needed to go the garage are for the regular services.
I have a shortlist of 21 cars from various sites that I am looking at and I am unsure what to go for.

I want something that accelerates a bit quicker than my IS and looking at the specs on autotrader, only the 3.0 seems to be doing that. The models I am looking at have the option of a 1.8turbo, a 2.4 or a 3.0, although there is one 2.5TDI that slips just into my price range.

Which engine is going to be the most reliable for me?
Should I go for an automatic or a manual? I fancied an automatic as my next car but they appear to be a couple of seconds slower on the 0-60? I want something quicker off the mark than my Lexus!
Tiptronic/multitronic....whats that all about? Im pretty basic in my car knowledge........a quick google search makes them look interesting though......any information is appreciated.

Is there a link anywhere on here to servicing schedules on these cars and what needs doing on these services? Or if anyone has this information to hand, even better.