AH FabricationsEM Tuning
    Neutral

Status

Running Issue/1.9 tdi

Car: 2003, 1.9 tdi SE 130.

Bit of a strange one this, the last two mornings whilst the wife has been driving to work, the car has become sluggish and lost power about five minutes into the journey, she said it felt like the turbo wasn't working (not bad for a wifey eh!), on Monday I shot over to her work to have a look at the car and it was absolutely fine, no issues found, no warning light came on, holding boost with no apparant split hoses and fine for the rest of the day.

The same happened again today, but not as much power loss, again the car is fine when it has been restarted.

I'm new to this Audi lark but the only thing I can think of right now would be a temperature sensor or similar maybe?

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks Glen.

2. # ADS
    ADS

Photographic Moderator

Status

My Social Networking

Follow Broken Byzan On Twitter Add Broken Byzan on Facebook Add Broken Byzan on Google+ Visit Broken Byzan's Youtube Channel
    It will more likely be sticky vanes in the turbo causing an overboost situation, this in turn throws the car into limp mode. The limp home mode continues until restart when it clears and resets back to normal until the next cold start where it occurs again.

Neutral

Status
    Ok thanks for that although it sounds expensive! What would cause the sticky vanes and is there a cure for this? The car has only covered 43k and has fsh.

6th Gear

Status
    I read you can move the arm by hand and it might scrape some of the soot out of the turbo.
    It's caused by a build up of soot iirc.

Neutral

Status
    Just did a search on 'sticky turbo vanes' and found this thread.. http://www.seatcupra.net/forums/printthread.php?t=63715

Not sure that the 10k boost/Powerboost spray would be a good idea though?

2nd Gear

Status
    Sounds like air mass meter is on its way out this gives the car the feeling of low turbo power done 4 this year very common