Xenon problem.

gaz j

Reaction score
The drivers side headlight light keep's going off and the side light won't come on at all. I'm new to Xenon's and don't have a clue. It is actually on my friends 54 TT 3.2 roadster. She rang Audi and was quoted about a £1000! Does she have to replace the whole headlamp unit or can the bulbs be replaced? And if yes are they easy to install? Any help is much appreciated.

The drivers side headlight light keep's going off and the side light won't come on at all. I'm new to Xenon's and don't have a clue. It is actually on my friends 54 TT 3.2 roadster. She rang Audi and was quoted about a £1000! Does she have to replace the whole headlamp unit or can the bulbs be replaced? And if yes are they easy to install? Any help is much appreciated.

On the A4 (Dipped Xenon only) they consist of the standard Halogen headlight lens, (which is Xenon compatible), a Xenon Control Unit (fitted underneath the cluster, a connection cable and then the bulb assembly (comprises a HT transformer unit on the back of the bulb). Each item has a part number and so could potentially be replaced.

These are rough prices for parts:
Xenon Control Unit ~£320
Cable ~ £22
Bulb (inc.HT unit assy) ~ £185

On the A4 - the side light is a simple 12V/5W "W5W" tungsten bulb - ~£2

BEWARE: XENONS use High Voltages so fiddling around could be the last thing you ever do!! BE CAREFUL.

Had a quick look at the TT parts list and it uses Two Xenon control units - different to the A4.
But uses a standard tungsten sidelight marked "H12V/6W" - the Audi part no. is N104 455 02 typically around £8 - but I'm sure you can source from any car part supplier for less than £3.

Check connections at the back of the headlight unit - they should be safe and no more than around 12V.

Perhaps post in the TT section to get experienced feedback on this model??

FYI A4's with OE Xenons use H6W side light bulbs.

433.jpg