Newby help required please.

phil mcglassup

Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

I'm new to Audis and I'm interested in an 2003 1.9 Tdi 130 [6] SE, 100k miles which I've been to see.
Could you help me with a few questions :-

Firstly, both front doors seem to have dropped at the back edge where they meet the front edge of the rear doors.
Then, there is a mild oil 'wetness' near the top of the nearside of the engine which looks like a gasket or something is leaking slightly. Sorry but I don't know what the parts are in this area!!
Also, I did not check if there is a radio code with the car.
Finally, what special tool do I need to change the cambelt.

Are any of these issues serious? Any help appreciated,

Phil.

Welcome! A very popular choice of car around here, there's lots of 1.9 Tdi fans who I'm sure will be able to help with your engine questions.

I wouldn't worry about the radio code, I bought a code off ebay for about a fiver so if it doesn't come with one, one could easily be acquired.

100k and the doors have dropped? See if that mileage can be backed up....... As for the oil is it on the engine or on the boost pipes?

Can you pin point the oily bit on this pic?

25404d1388925577 another new 1 9tdi owner 20140105 122816

The MoT certificate shows the last four mileages which appear logical, though what happened prior to that is unknown. I'll check it out on the VOSA site. The oil is on the intercooler pipe (I think) joint that is about half way along and parallel with the head. Not much just damp/wet with oil.

Yes it's the black pipe approx. 5cm diameter under the plastic engine cover under the dipstick area.

And meant to say the doors have only dropped 1-2mm

Leaking boost pipe. Seal can be replaced for about £4. Did you see the oil cooler down there? Was it leaking or covered in oil? Did you test drive it?

Thanks.