Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By S4_dan

Thread: Rumbling noise from front when doing around 40 mph

Reverse Gear

Status

Rumbling noise from front when doing around 40 mph

Hi everyone.
    I'm new to this so go easy on me.
    I have a 1.8t avant s line and I have a Rumbling noise when doing around 40 mph after 45 the noise goes. could it be the tyres or maybe even a wheel bearing help much appreciated thanks.

2. # ADS
    ADS

1st Gear

Status
    Hello with the sound of it its a bearing. Fack the car up and gige the wheel a wiggle is there is any play its the bearing. It could be a damaged arch liner maybe. Hope you get it sorted though
    A4 B6 1.9TDI Avant in Ming Blue. S Line Bumper and Door Blades, Cruise Control, RS4 Carbon Fiber dash inlays, Passat Projector fogs with 55w 8000k HID, Carbon Wrapped Grills, Cupra Splitter, BBS LM reps 19", Heko Deflectors, S Line Spoiler, All LED interior Lights, Auto Dim Mirror, 1.8t exhaust, HD Touch screen headunit GPS DTV IPOD CD DVD, Front Armest, Rear Cupholders, Focal Sub, Focal Amp, Hertz 4ch Amp, 2x Focal Access 165a1 Components.

3rd Gear

Status
    Wheel bearing is the most likely culprit.
    A4 Avant B6 1.9 TDI 130 Sport (6) Moro Pearl Blue, GMBH S Line Kit, Decat, 165bhp remap, EGR delete, K&N panel, Dunlop SP Sport Max, Full Leather, Cruise Control, Full DIS, Bose, Audi phone prep, Cooled Glove Box, Rear privacy glass, Rear parking assist.
    2003 Seat Ibiza 1.2 TSI FR in Lima green.

God Mode

Status
    Wheel bearing's messed on my front too, anyone know what kind of time frame they can last being dodgy as I do about 50 miles a day working Mon-Fri and my local garage can't get us in until two Saturdays away

Neutral

Status
    The bearing rumble noise can go on for a few weeks. It's only likely to get worse, so get it booked in.
    Is that with or without VAT?

2001 B5 A4 2.5 TDI Avant quattro sport (155k)
    2003 A2 1.4 TDI SE (125k)
    1995 80 TDI SE Avant (175k) sold

Fire up the Quattro!

Status