• 1 Post By S4_dan
  • 1 Post By S4_dan

Thread: Thats one way to stop warning lights

Reverse Gear

Status

Thats one way to stop warning lights

552.jpg

Hi I'm a newbie to the A4 B6 Cabrio.
    Just purchased my first a 2003 2.4 v6 with a declared fault with the roof and a non functioning central display in the dash cluster.
    Having fixed the roof after discovering various disconnected micro switches and bodges I moved on to fixing the display.
    I used the guide here to replace the central led unit which now works a treat I discovered that the roof warning and ABS warning lights had both been filled with black silicone. Thats one way to stop the lights but why not fix the fault ?

Have all these cars been tampered with or am I just unlucky ? The car came with a full audi service history and one owner from new but someone who hasn't a clue has been playing with this car.

2. # ADS
    ADS

6th Gear

Status
    Last guy i know who did this wasnt so lucky. he screwed his rev counter up and damaged the pcb trying to cover the engine management light on a late a3 !
    '02 TDi 130 Sport: Mods to date: BXP 160 conversion, EGR delete, Decat, Helix SMF fast road clutch, 312mm front rotors, full DIS , CC, Xenons.
    VCDS fully registered and happy to help.
    *Need a Spare Key or Remote? SKC retrieval? Clock/ECU swap or milage correction? I am fully insured to work on your vehicle! Offering a good deal and quality service to ASN members Nationwide!*

YSN
    Neutral

Status
    When buying a car you should remember that when you turn the ignition on all of the lights should come on and then go off so if one is not there you should ask questions.

3rd Gear

Status
    Makes you wonder what else you will find. Codges like this seem to be more common these days especially as a lot of the time you can get warning lights with no apparent problem with the car. Also cars can fail an MOT because of any warning lights that are on the dash.

Karl.

5th Gear

Status