Sky InsuranceAH Fabrications
    1st Gear

Status

Possible End To My 2.5 TQS - Fuel Pump?

Decided to go out and take some photos this evening. Car has been running smoothly since all the belts were changed. Was doing 70mph on a stretch of dual carriageway when I lost all power. Car just ground to a halt. Tried restarting it but wouldn't fire. Popped the bonnet and looked for anything 'suspicious' as I'm not a mechanic and couldn't find anything. Called my brother who lives just a few miles from where I stopped and then waited. Tried restarting a few times but nothing.

Half a tank of diesel. No warning lights or messages. What I did notice was that if I just left the ignition on for about 30 seconds, the glow plug light starts to flash.

Anyway, got the car to my brothers house. He loosened the fuel lines and diesel is getting through when I turn it over, but he said it wasn't much, and should be coming through under pressure. The car is now with him and the mechanic will be checking it tomorrow.

Now that I'm back home, I've been Googling this past half hour or so, and the news doesn't look good. Either the pump has gone or the ECU in it has gone, and the options available aren't cheap, including the option to scrap the car!

What's more annoying is that I've been making little mods on it since I got it, and I was starting to like what I had done. I've taken photos of the various mods, and haven't even got around to starting a thread here on it, and now this.

Will post an update tomorrow evening... if I'm in a good mood.
    2001 A4 (B6) 2.5TDi V6 Quattro Sport Saloon

2. # ADS
    ADS

God Mode

Status
    Personally I'd get it repaired, cost of repairs will outweigh amount lost when selling/scrapping a broken car.
    Last edited by DieselJake; 2nd May 2013 at 04:40.

5th Gear

Status
    Look for parts from a car breaker also.
    Mike

5th Gear
    Breakout Champion

Status