AH FabricationsVolks Autos

Thread: Help With Car

Reverse Gear

Status

Help With Car

HI there all

I am relatively new to Audi ownership and have developed a bit of a problem with my car

The car is a 2005 2.5TDI A4 Convertible with 72k miles 6 speed

These are the symptoms of the car:

Judders when pulling away quickly in the car but it doesnt if pulling away slowly

Strange rattle knock sometimes when going over bumps which i cannot pinpoint where from

yesterday when sitting in traffic idling the car seemed to be vibrating a bit

It is still under independant warranty so I am hoping that whatever it is is covered

Thanks

2. # ADS
    ADS

1st Gear

Status

Help With Car

Sounds like it may be the dmf, dual mass flywheel. Do you get a rattle on startup over and above the usual diesel clatter?

Reverse Gear

Status
    Yeah it does rattle a bit yeah not had a diesel before so wasnt sure if that was normal

Reverse Gear

Status
    Sounds like that will be expensive then???

5th Gear

Status
    sounds like DMF ,Does the noise change when clutch is engaged? the other knocking over bumps could be Suspension arms ,upper/lower. Heard of Springs breaking as well.
    Where abouts in Norfolk are you? Im in Loddon if you need/want it scanned at all with VCDS.

Yorkshire & Humber Rep.

Status
    id say DMF
    but with out looking we cant say for sure

Reverse Gear

Status
    No the knocking noise doesnt seem to have anything to do with the clutch at all. It seems to be a knocking not loud when hitting a sharp bump in the road almost has the sound of a parcel shelf jumping. I did wonder if this was a spring or something s will check that. The only symptoms of the clutch side of things is the juddering when pulling away too quickly and the idle in traffice yesterday but first/only time it has done that.

Thanks for the offer of the VCDS i did not realise i havent updated my location I am now in Lincolnshire.