iPhone ashtray dock (build thread)

boya

Reaction score
Decided after seeing something similar on a BMW to have a bash at making my own, here are some pics of it do far, I am a engineer so machining aluminium isn't a problem
ea2dcbe9.jpg

d74457d4.jpg

f96e48c8.jpg

My plan is to wire the dock to a fm transmitter in the glove box for a while before hard wiring it to the head unit, I can't stand wires so thought I would give this a go, to finish it off I am going to use carbon wrap and maybe mill a slot along the side to allow the ashtray light to illuminate the dock. I will keep posting updates. Let me know what you's think

Nice work, going to be good I'm sure. I look forward to updates :thumbsup:

Cheers lads, I thought about knocking a few up but the time it takes on a manual machine to make one of these it works out far too long! But if anyone has CNC programming skills and access to a machine it wouldn't take long at all. Plastic moulding would be the best option but that's way out of my area lol. I have just managed to get it all glued in place so I will take another picture when it is dry :)

Right then, who's got access to a CNC milling machine, would be very interested in obtaining one of these.......

now this is the sort of thing that makes me smile the most, the DIY mod, one who knows where he is going and what it must do and look like at the end, keep at this as a plastic version could end up making you a lot of money in the end, keep me posted!

Cheers for the comments lads. It's getting there..

d7b0dd35.jpg

And a side view showing the angle the phone will sit at.

0e071575.jpg

Can't wait to have a trial fit tonight :) maybe get it wrapped and fitted next week sometime.

Well done that man there ! I Want one ! how you going to hard-wire it to the stereo and what stereo do you have ?

Last edited: