Chris NottSky Insurance
    1st Gear

Status

a4 or a6 2.5 tdi quattro advice

Im currently looking at these as im needing a tow car, daily runner etc

Their seems to be a few about for the right money, but im new to vags so im unsure on common faults and things to look out for when buying?

anyone got any pros or cons to them?

reliablity? mpg? common faults

much difference between the 150 and 180?

Thanks in advance

2. # ADS
    ADS

4th Gear

Status
    We have had 2 of these for over 2 years an auto and a manual although ones going soon probably the manual.I would look for good servicing not Longlife if poss and a top quality cambelt change waterpump and tstat.The manual can easily do over 40mpg but not sure about towing.They are rewarding to drive but do plenty of research cos I think good ones are rare

1st Gear

Status
    sounds good to me, would the 2.5 be better for towing over the 1.9? the quattro system quiet reliable any ways of telling good from bad?

4th Gear

Status
    You will need to hear from those who tow with Quattros but I assume that the 2.5 will be better with 180bhp than the 1.9s 130.The system seems reliable and has been in wide use for many years.Most are unabused due to high initial cost and good s/hand values but you need to look at some and I dont see a lot available.How much are you spending?

Status

My Social Networking

Follow quattrojames On Twitter Add quattrojames on Facebook
    Quattro drivetrains are pretty bulletproof.

I've never driven a 1.9q, but I'm pretty sure a 2.5q would walk all over it for towing with the extra torque of the engine.
    Ingolstance Read about my A6 HERE.

5th Gear
    Breakout Champion

Status