55 2.0TDI - wont start!

phils2000

Reaction score
Hi al,, i'm new to hear and new to audi ownership (not been very positive so far i have to say!). I bought a 55 plate 2.0 tdi sport with 120k on clock 3 months ago and has spent 4 weeks of its 12 weeks with me in the garage and 2 weeks parked up whilst i was on honeymoon. Anyway, after its little time parked up ****** thing will not start. Since i've had it, it suffered serious coolant loss, so had EGR valve replaced and then radiator, now the thing just spins on the starter and wont go!!!

Any ideas to get it going...its next journey is the mini dealership to be traded in, just need to get it going.

All in all, a very unfortunate experience for me with A3 owenership.

any help much appreciated.

Phil.

you Have just bought a car that has been around the world 5 times and then say Audis are not good! surly a service would have been the 1st thing to do after you got the car!

More info on your problem mate? Is the engine turning over with the starter motor or just the starter motor spining?

Gaz

cheers for reply, got it going just now, engine was turning just not firing, hooked it up to another (jump leads) and span it for about 2 mins, it finally spluttered into life....mechanic reckon fuel starvation at 1/4 tank.....

The car was serviced at Audi in november so i felt no need to service it again so soon after, has FASH, 1 owner so in my eyes a good car, just that in 10 weeks of driving it it has been in the garage for 4 of those with various issues, so just a bit burnt so far by audi ownership!

Have you sorted the coolant loss?
Let's hope it is not a porous cylinder head.

coolant loss seemingly sorted, but only driven for a week with new EGR and rad...

the porous head is just wear and tear and to be expected apparently.

Porous head is a design fault in early BKD engines not wear & tear.

coolant loss seemingly sorted, but only driven for a week with new EGR and rad...