EM TuningChris Nott
    3rd Gear

Status

CAI Cool-Air Tube Heat Shield

Came across this a few months ago and seemed like a good idea

Keep your induction air cool with this unique lace up tube cover. The design of the cover allows it to fit from 2-1/2 inch to 3-1/2 inch air tubes up to 36 inches long. The lace on heat shield blocks over 98% of the radiant heat of the turbo and exhaust.

I work as a aircraft gas turbine engineer and have seen similar technology used for wrapping harnesses to protect them from heat. I managed to source a heatshield from my work that had been scrapped. Its constructed of heat resistant fibres with a reflective foil exterior and a heat reflective silicone inner. Same idea as the above product but a far higher quality standard.

Removed my CAI today and fitted the heatshield. Took a bit of time to get it to fold neatly round the bends but i think it turned out pretty good.

Cheers Davie
    Last edited by david_phillips95; 31st March 2010 at 20:51.

2. # ADS
    ADS

1st Gear

Status
    yeah looks good m8 will have to get me some from ur work lol
    GIAC pump & race map WITH CONTROLER, VF ITAKE ,AUTOTECH HPFP,MV DOWNPIPE & MILTEK CAT BK,RS4 REG,UPRATED OEM DV, CUSTOM ENGINE COVER, BOOST GAUGE & POD, H&R SPRINGS, OEM BLACK WHEELS, FORGE CATCH TANK AND WASHER BOTTLE ,RNS-E SAT NAV BLUETOOTH,FLAT BOTTOM, BUCKETS,PRE-FACE TAILLIGHTS TINTS

Now running on Bentley's y'all

Status
    I would be shocked if there was any benefit. The air is sucked through at such a speed, I can't see wh the pipe being a bit warmer will actually warm the air travelling through it significantly.
    A3 3.2 V6 S-Line | Brilliant Black | Full Votex Kit | 18" Cades Bern / 19" Bentley 5 Spokes in flat grey with 215/35 Falkens | Custom Code Remap
    V-Maxx coilovers | Remus exhaust | Pipercross Viper | Goodridge Brake Lines | RNS-E | Bluetooth | FBMFSW
    Previous VAGs: 99 S4 Biturbo | 06 Golf GT TDI | 08 A4 S-Line TDI PD140 | 02 Passat 4.0 W8