genuine or not ..???

10blazin

HYPERDRIVE NEEDED
Reaction score
Hi guy's I'm trying to sell my car before my misses has our baby boy Ive reduced the sale to 13,400 ? How ever a guy has emailed us from our ad on auto trader he says' his name is Adam Clark and he work's for audisouthwest.. He claims he is the used car buyer and has offered us 12250 for the car , i really need a quick sale so i want to take his offer , He says's he will send a driver with a truck and a bankers draft I'm not keen on this because of forgery's so i suggested a bank transfer ...is this guy genuine or not ? how could i find out ? The website seems fine but something is telling me he may be dodgy or is it me being paranoid ? This is my first time selling a car and its really annoying and stressfull , Does anyone know how i could get this guy checked out or what's the bestway of payment etc......

I've had no experience in anything like this but if this guy is genuine then he would have no issues with you
- asking for his main office number so you could call him back to validation he works for Audi (and tell him this is your first and immediate intention)
- requesting payment is cleared before releasing YOUR car (bankers draft, cheque - whatever you decide)
- making him explain how he is meant to be a pro (if his approach is normal then there will be plenty of people he has spoken to who has been sceptical! Don't try to be nice or sound clever, instead just explain 'I don't feel comfortable.... ' or 'I am only comfortable with......'. Don't let him bluff you into anyway - A good salemens manipulates your anxieties so be careful)
- having your own demands as it is normal for any negotiation
- asking him how he will gurantee you (e.g. pre sales invoice posted to you before the exchange date?)

Take a moment to think about your position: