Dilemma

a3rick

The Ibis
Reaction score
Hi, I'm new to this site but my dilemma is this - I receieve an allowance for a company car and my choice is between the A3 1.8tfsi and A3 2.0tdi 140 I do approx 30,000 miles per year some mway but mostly A roads I get a fuel allowance of 14p per mile. Sensibility says I should go for the diesel but fun says the petrol, I currently have a Jetta 2.0 tdi 140 sport would the A3 diesel be pretty much the same??

From last year the Jetta had the same Common Rail diesel engine but until then it wasn't so you would find the A3 engine more refined and more balanced on power delivery.

Personally I cannot fault the 2.0 TDI, it's a good balance between economy and performance.

The 1.8 TFSI is relatively rare but when it has been discussed on here people have been happy with it.

If it's 30000 miles of A roads you're probably best to get diesel though I would have thought.

Im a car salesman mate, we say anyone who does over 12k a year needs a diesel. And tbh, the 140 2.0 tdi will be perfect for what you need.

Thanks guys, I was clinging on to the hope that I could justify getting the 1.8tfsi mainly due to the 0 - 60 time but the economics win hands down.

what are the true MPG figures you would get for the 2.0tdi 140 & the 1.8tfsi? does anybody have this info?

Done about 380 miles in my new 1.8tfsi SPORT, and the figures aren't impressive, though I'm only doing short journeys with it so far, and got stuck in a stop-start traffic jam for over 20 minutes last week. It has used 53 litres to do just 283 miles - that's less than 24.5 mile per gallon.

eeek thats not good, but to be fair you've only done 380 miles. I'm sure it will improve, now waiting for tdi figures......

I do about 20K (mostly motorway miles) miles per year in my 2.0l TDI. I average around the 48-50 mpg. :icon_thumright:

thats not as high as i thought......aaaarrrrggghhh I just dont know which one to choose........