Damaged Paint: Need Advice (My Fault)

Xerohour

Reaction score
Hi guys/gals

Your advice would be greatly appreciated...

Ive done something I've never done before and aside from feeling extremely stupid im a little concerned about what ive done to my cars paint work. Ive never hit about car in the 8 years ive been driving and its really caught me off guard, feeling like the biggest plonker EVER

I was backing of my drive way during the week (on my way to the doctors, so head is in a shed) and i lightly bumped into a landscape gardeners transit van. Its was my fault despite his inconciderate parking and im prepared to take the damage on the chin and pay up for the damage (funnily enough not damage to the transit and no one was in the van at the time) So im gonna have to pay for the damage to my car.

At first i though it was just a scuff on the bumper but after washing the car this weekend and attempting to repair the damage myself (Ive fixed the scuff with Meguires Scratch-X) ive notice a strange crack in the paint.

I can only assume that as the rear bumper has flexed the paint has cracked! The damage is about 10-15cm long and is a very fine line of tiny little cracks.

My questions are: Is this BAD damage? How much is it likely to cost to cost? Will the car need blending as its just the plastic bumper? and should i really be getting this work done through audi concidering the car is only a month old.

Quick Pic:

DSC_0236.jpg

Many thanks from a rather embarrassed new car owner.

you'll need a respray in the area where the damage is, i would say you are looking at £150 for a pukka job.

you'll need a respray in the area where the damage is, i would say you are looking at £150 for a pukka job.

Crap... i thought that would be the case. To be honest its not the money im bothered about, but rather the quality of the match. Should i be going through Audi?