Supressor for Tomtom iPhone car kit?

pengjn

Reaction score
Hi all,

I recently had a company fit a Tomtom iPhone car kit to my 2004 A3 Sport. It's great because it acts like a CD changer and I'm able to play music from my iPhone through the car's hifi. The downside is that they didn't install a suppressor, so I get whine from the engine through the speakers. It's annoying. Is it easy to fit a suppressor (i'm not very good at DIY!) or how much would it cost to get one fitted?

Any help much appreciated.

Cheers,
Jimbo

Hi m8
Maybe a Ferite ring around the cable might be enough!!!

I'd try that first. Cheap and easy.

Good luck.
Chris

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Good idea - sorry to be thick but does it have to be at the end that connects to the back of the hifi or doesn't it matter?

It shouldn't matter
Although maybe closer to the iPhone might be better.
I'd try and wrap/loop the cable through the ferite tho.
Should suppress the extra frequency.

Chris

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Hi mate sorry to crash this but I have recently got an iPhone and I'm wondering what the options are to get playback through the cars stereo. If it makes a difference I hav the audi Bluetooth car kit fitted too. Thanks
chris

Hi mate sorry to crash this but I have recently got an iPhone and I'm wondering what the options are to get playback through the cars stereo. If it makes a difference I hav the audi Bluetooth car kit fitted too. Thanks
chris

+1 on that question!! i have the kit, and the S3 will have bluetooth handsfree