Badger5EM Tuning
    Reverse Gear

Status

Buying A3 TDI 170 Help!

Hey guys,
    Im new to this and would appreciate any info on buying an A3 tdi 170 2006/2007.Ive heard lots of mixed reviews about them. Has any one had gearbox or turbo problems or any other problems to look for? Is the quattro good in a diesel? I do short drives around London.Will cause the DPF to play up? Any info would be much appreciated.

Thanks

2. # ADS
    ADS

5th Gear

Status
    mixed views on them - personally i have had no probs with the dpf mine has worked flawlessly (my tailpipes still look brand new after 2.5 years - swear there is only fresh air coming out of this thing) but mine is an s-tronic - and i suspect the s-tronic suits the dpf better as the dpf seems to communicate to the gearbox and change gear shift points accordingly to keep the dpf from clogging (never seen light once and i have done 10k in mine all round town work hardly any motorway) thats sais i think because of this i dont get great mpg for a diesel - i generally only average 32mpg and that isnt hammering it everywhere either - on a good run it does still do 50s though

Full speed ahead

Status
    I've got a Jan 2007 170 quattro 6sp manual and can thoroughly recommend it. Driving is a mix of short town hops & long distance motorway hacks. No issues with DPF or gearbox so far (fingers crossed!) and the quattro is well worth the investment IMHO as it gives the car amazing grip in all weathers - it goes round corners like it's on rails.
    Daytona RS4 Avant :: black optics

2nd Gear

Status
    I'm not saying ignore everything you read but I was also really concerned with the possibility of DPF issues after researching the model. I've had my car for almost 12 months and covered circa 8,000 miles without any DPF issues. I use it for a mix of short and long journeys.

Really happy with mine.
    A3 2.0TDI 170 Sport

1st Gear

Status