Bonnet shut lines - how big are yours?

Esox Mark

Smoke me a kipper...
Reaction score
Hi everyone

Something I noticed when I parked my S3 next to another A3 at the weekend was the marked difference in the shut lines between the bonnet and wings of the two cars. As is so often the case, once I start to question something it then stays on my mind... anyway, looking at my car it is obvious that the gap between the bonnet and the wings is taking the ****. On the drivers side, if I kneel down and look accross the bonnet I can see the black rubbers that cushion the bonnet when it is closed - not good on a white car! Quite why it's not really stood out before I don't know... anyway... I meaured the gap at 5mm all the way along and on the passengers side it's just under 4mm.

The car is booked into the Dealer next week to go to the body shop under warranty - Audi seem to think the problem is a misalligned bonnet? Now I'm no expert, but I bet all they do is move it one way by about 1mm so I end up with about 4mm each side! That'll still be too big a gap for my liking. In my opinion, the wings are going to have to somehow come in by 1mm either side, anyway... I measured the shut lines on work colleagues A3 this morning and his are 3.5mm each side. We then went mad and checked two other Audis in our car park at work and one (an A4) was 3mm and the other (S5) 3.5mm...

So, I was wondering how big a gap you chaps have on your A3's? That's so I have at least a bench mark figure to present Audi with when I leave the car with them next week.

THANKS as always!

Mark

Last edited:
You might struggle if they give you an aligned 4mm gap, asking for them to move the wings in 0.5mm.....

Can we have pictures please Esox. Mine is a little big, and infact i believe its bigger on the right than the left!

I don't have my A3 here right now but I'll measure when it's back (tomorrow hopefully) until then I'm stuck with a Seat Ibiza 1.2 courtesy car lol.