A3 2.0 TDi DSG Juddering

Reaction score
Hi All

Im a newbie to the site and really should have got on here ages ago!

Ive recently bought an A3 and had nothing but trouble and a hole in my wallet

Basically after pruchasing my wicked looking vehicle it has developed a problem where it keeps going into a safety mode limiting the revs

Also now it intermittently starts to judder, this starts off quite subtly but then becomes a really heavy jerking from the engine.

Once you turn the car off and on again its reset until it happens again.

The problem only happens when on longer runs and doesnt always happen.

Ive had a new head gasket and a brand new head put on the car and a new injector all mounting up to over £2k!

Thing is im not sure its fixed and its really driving me nuts

Do you have any ideas what it could actually be?

Any help is appreciated

When you put the AC on, does it make the idling any better?

Or does te car idle rough more in N or P as opposed to D, S and Manual mode?

Have you had vagcom on it?

Sounds like a fault with the Mechatronic unit on the DSG transmission, if it clears when switched off and on, and then comes back. Like a software issue or along them lines....

Quite a costly replacement/fix, but i would'nt say that is definate diagnosis of your problem...

Welcome by the way!

havent had a vagcom on it yet
this mechatronic unit sounds expensive:think:

you reckon the vag-com will flag this?

Yes should do, definately the first thing to do is get VAG COM on it and see what comes up, you never know it may be something simple and cheaper causing the problem.

It will narrow it down to what part of the car is at fault at least i.e engine or gearbox etc

When you say you're not sure its fixed, has it actually happened again then?