Taking and A3 and making it go faster!!!!!

I

imported_tobycruse

OK, I'm new to this so here goes! I've got and Audi A3 2.0 FSI and I was wandering what options i have to increase the performance of the car. Iv heard about re mapping the ECU and putting a different exhaust on but what else can i do? Can anyone help?

Remapping a non-turboed or normally aspirated (NA) engine won't give you that much extra power, neither will an aftermarket exhaust system.

A remap will probably give you an extra 10-12bhp.

Oki Doki, so what can I do to make the car go faster? Would i have to buy a turbo and put it in to get the most increase in power?

[ QUOTE ]
Imola S3 said:
A remap will probably give you an extra 10-12bhp.

[/ QUOTE ]

More like 5-6 in reality....despite what some dyno's show.

[ QUOTE ]
T. Cruse said:
Oki Doki, so what can I do to make the car go faster? Would i have to buy a turbo and put it in to get the most increase in power?

[/ QUOTE ]

At the risk of this sounding a bit short:
Buy a faster car.

I can't believe you bought a new 2.0 FSI economy-beast and now even think about fitting a turbo?

Just buy a turbo's car to start with...or get the V6.

Modern cars are so well optimised that you just don't get gains by bolting on crap aftermarket accesories on NA cars, like you did back in the 80s and 90s.
You'll be lucky to see 10BHP extra by changing the air filter, cat, exhaust, and re-working the head.
Supposing someone ever actually produces cams for it...you'll be lucky to be able to get them to pass the emissions test...so they're useless.

Sorry...but you're pretty much stuck.

For the price of the FSi you could have got a late low mileage S3 with plenty of change for a load of real modifications. Why would anyone buy that car new if they wanted a fast car, why would anyone buy a new car full stop if they are into performance?
I'm guessing/hoping it's a company car....

[ QUOTE ]
AndyMac said: