AH FabricationsSky Insurance
    1st Gear

Status

Big Brotherwatching You !!

I bet this happens sometime they will be able to fine you automatically should you go over the speed limit anytime & charge you for the miles you do......the technology is there it will also kill the car industry when it does.

http://uk.cars.yahoo.com/02042009/36...-closer-0.html

2. # ADS
    ADS

dbm
    3rd Gear

Status
    Whilst I agree that this kind of technology is undesirable, and it would probably signal my emigrating, I am comfortable that it will not come on line in the next 5 or 10 years. I work in IT, testing large computer systems, and the sheer volume of data which needs to be processed to make this kind of system work is too large to handle at the moment. You only need to look at the difficulties being experienced with the NHS project to see how tricky this kind of thing is, and sharing patient records is much more straightforward than computing and recording speeds / locations for literally millions of cars.

Cheers,
    Dan

Not anymore - Back 2 BMW (shh)

Status
    Balderdash! Which satellites are to be receiving this half second pulse? GPS sats transmit timing and orbital data, they don't receive data from GPS devices. If they intend launching some new sats, how many do they expect to buy for 36m?!? Maybe there's a buy-one-get-one free special on at Tesco!

Hmmm, was it published 1 April...?
    Last edited by a3norwich; 5th April 2009 at 15:54.

1st Gear

Status
    Quote Originally Posted by dbm View Post