Chris NottEM Tuning
Results 1 to 18 of 18
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By jonathon555

Thread: A3 170 CR S LINE Honest review ......

  1. #1
    Reverse Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    9

    A3 170 CR S LINE Honest review ......

    OK, lets start I am new to this forum & have been considering a black edition 170 sportback as my next company car.

    So I have managed to get a 2009 A3 170 S line on a 4 day demo delivered. I do about 30,000 company miles a year in my company car plus 10,000 personal driving miles in my other cars.

    Just so you don't think i am some kind of petrol head fool ! I have had over 50 different cars in the past 17 years including Nissan GTr;s Evo's, All the Renaultsports etc Currently have an E90 3 series 320D, Renault megane R26 Mapped, Saxo VTS track car.

    So i have decided to write an honest review of the past 48hrs using the audi .... so here it goes.

    The car was delivered with 1800 miles on the clock so quite tight for a diesel, it has a bose sound system & a few other options which arn't worth mentioning really.

    So how does it go ?

    Very very well in my opinion, i have previously had a 150 tdi golf which was mapped. This is my nearest benchmark for this car.... I reckon the audi is faster by a chunk. We have already run this car against my cousins 123d coupe, we were shocked at how well the A3 could hold its own against the twin turbo bm. We ran them from 20 mph 2nd gear roll on (private ground) to *** mph the bmw only started making 1 car length of gap at above *** mph .

    I have had it out on motorways all day today, it can really make ground on the outside lane way faster than my 3 series by a massive margin.

    The only problem i have come across so far ist that the steering is far too light for pushing on a fast winding road & the lack of front end grip on the limit. Don't get me wrong here the car i have here is fitted with bridgestones with michelin pilots the result may be different.

    It is hard to get this car to adjust the pitch of the car by using the throttle alone, it seems to just plough on, But by knowing the grip limits & being a bit more gentle you can really cover ground with this car.

    The interior seems to be from an old school era compared to an a4 or a5. No push button start etc, old school synphony stereo not even touch screen. The seats are ok but not as comfy as the new A4 sline or tt seat with the pull out leg supports, (Audi if you read this please update the front seats to the same spec as the a4 or scirrocco with the 12 way lumbar support) The clock are nice & clear & in proper postions (better than the new A4) Pulling the hand brake on with the arm rest down is a pain as it can pull your back ! the cup holder is also very awkward posion between the front seats. What wrong with having a pop out one on the dash instead of a stupid change tray ( you used to be able to change it)

    The boot space is ok , though i would not classify this as a proper kidnappers car ( as your potential target may find the sportback boot a touch cramped)

    This car has 1 interior rattle developing already which is not that good, as my bmw has 0 after 90,000 miles. The stereo IMO is very good with a nice volume level can be acheived with no distortion.

    Ok my finger are getting tired now so lets have a verdict .....

    For a diesel this CR engine is exceptional, so quiet its unreal, responsive beyond anything i could imagine & as for the power delivery,,,, lets just say Audi have used very large horses in this engine. Bmw in the 320D 163 BHP have used shetland ponies in comparison. The Audi IMHO is putting out at leat 180 BHP & 280 lb/ft.

    Ineterior could do with a small upgrade to the seats & make them go lower !

    There is also quite alot of road noise from the tyres compared to the bmw even though my bm runs on 18" run flats.

    What can I say to finish the ....... bye bye bmw, hello AUDI

    any questions please pm me

    thanks
    Last edited by jonathon555; 18th February 2009 at 23:33.

  2. # ADS
    ADS
    Join Date
    Always
    Posts
    Many
     
  3. #2
    APL TDi's Avatar
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    285
    Wow good report.

    I doubt anyone can argue with the good or bad points you have highlighted.

    I agree with you on the understeer, I have an older 140 tdi and it took alot of getting used to the steering. It is slightly numb but when you get used to it you can carry a decent amount of speed into corners.

    Good report!
    2004 140 TDi sport 3dr (new turbo)

  4. #3
    APL TDi's Avatar
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    285
    Wow good report.

    I doubt anyone can argue with the good or bad points you have highlighted.

    I agree with you on the understeer, I have an older 140 tdi and it took alot of getting used to the steering. It is slightly numb but when you get used to it you can carry a decent amount of speed into corners.

    Good report!
    2004 140 TDi sport 3dr (new turbo)

  5. #4
    2nd Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    421
    Quote Originally Posted by jonathon555 View Post
    I have had it out on motorways all day today, it can really make ground on the outside lane way faster than my 3 series by a massive margin.

    lets just say Audi have used very large horses in this engine. Bmw in the 320D 163 BHP have used shetland ponies in comparison. The Audi IMHO is putting out at leat 180 BHP & 280 lb/ft.


    What can I say to finish the ....... bye bye bmw, hello AUDI



    This'll get interesting when Bowfer arrives!!

    Great write up. So have you ordered the A3 yet?
    Last edited by davemk; 19th February 2009 at 10:37.
    A3 2.0TDI 170 Sport

  6. #5
    Matt's Avatar
    5th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Cumbria
    Posts
    1,416
    I have the older 170 engine and its a pretty good all round car. Its not the most sporty handling admittedly but its not bad.

    Out of interest have you tried the later 320d with 177bhp engine?
    Sold: A3 2.0 TDI 170 S-line | Full leather | BOSE | Phantom Black | Bluefin
    Now: Mini John Cooper Works

  7. #6
    Reverse Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    9
    Quote Originally Posted by Matt View Post
    I have the older 170 engine and its a pretty good all round car. Its not the most sporty handling admittedly but its not bad.

    Out of interest have you tried the later 320d with 177bhp engine?
    Yes I have tried the 177 BHP BMW engine its pretty good, It feels alot more than 14 BHP more than the 163 BHP engine.

    I Just do not trust BMW demo cars anymore ! I was given a 120D loan demonstrator for the day whilst my car was in for service. It was a 163 BHP engine supposidly, but it was a lot more than 163 from my estimations due to the ammount of acceleration it had, it was just ridicolous. My 320D 163 just struggles along in comparison.

    The other week i was given a 318D loan car which was way faster than my 320D. So I just do not trust them. I drove a 177 demo from 1 garage which pulled like a train well into 3 figures & kept wheel spinning the rear wheels in 2nd gear. I took a 177 from another dealer which was just a touch better than a 163.

    WTF ??????????

    I just can't work it out how two apparently identical cars can be so far apart.


    Just reading the full Autocar 320D test again they managed to acheive 0 - 100 mph in 22.8 seconds. My Identical 320D 0 - 100 MPH 29.7 seconds.

    I used race technology performance equipment.
    cubby likes this.

  8. #7
    Slipp Digby's Avatar
    Neutral

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    73
    Quote Originally Posted by jonathon555 View Post
    The boot space is ok , though i would not classify this as a proper kidnappers car ( as your potential target may find the sportback boot a touch cramped)
    you think thats cramped, try the quattro i tried to put a dead body in my s3 boot and........oh cock.

    seems the CR engines are getting nothing but a big thumbs up.

  9. #8
    Low life livin' the high life.

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    1,638
    Brilliant review mate, thanks for that and welcome to the forum.
    Never been a diesel fan myself but i'm hearing great things about the new CR 170 engines. With a good remap i bet it's a seriously quick machine to the point where Audi better start improving the refinement and power of it's petrol engines to keep up with it's diesels.
    A3 2.0T FSI Quattro S-Line, 3 Door, Avus Silver (special ed.)

    For Sale:

    S-Line gear knob, stick and gator.
    Full set of OEM wheel bolts (incl. locking nuts & caps)
    19" BBS CK's Anthracite - SOLD

  10. #9
    I throughly agree about the new CR diesels. Having driven a 140 for two hours on Sunday and a 170 for two hours on Tuesday they are both very smooth and much quieter than the previous engines. Personally I found the 170 slightly noisier than the 140 and I think that could be down to a slightly bigger turbo.

    I spoke to a chap on the service desk at my local dealers this afternoon and he has had 140 Sportback as his car for several months and is averaging around 50mpg.
    Dave R (h5djr)
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    A3 8V 2.0 TDI-184 Sportback Sport s-tronic quattro - Silver + lots of options - my 9th A3

  11. #10
    Sem
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    297
    Nice review, I have a CR-140 and love it, it's worlds apart from my old 1.9 PD150 Golf.
    2008 (58) Audi A3 2.0TDI S-Line
    Phantom Black, Xenons, RNS-E etc...

  12. #11
    5th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    1,139
    what engine would an 08 TDI sport have? (pre facelift - ie, no indictors in mirrors, etc) this sounded different to my 170 but was awfully rough and grumbly - so glad to get ine back its silky in comparison, if not quite as punchy from low revs

  13. #12
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    273
    Quote Originally Posted by steve184 View Post
    what engine would an 08 TDI sport have? (pre facelift - ie, no indictors in mirrors, etc) this sounded different to my 170 but was awfully rough and grumbly - so glad to get ine back its silky in comparison, if not quite as punchy from low revs
    No facelift then it would not be the common rail but the previous gen PD based units, so either 1.9 (105bhp), 2.0 (140bhp) or 2.0 (170bhp).

  14. #13
    Neutral

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    41
    When did the A3 diesel engine change to Common Rail

  15. #14
    Quote Originally Posted by Black Edition Dave View Post
    When did the A3 diesel engine change to Common Rail
    The A3 2.0 TDI diesels changed to the common-rail type for the 3-door and Sportback for the 2009 Model Year. That basically means all cars made after June 2008 although the 170 was not generally available until around September 2008. The 1.9 TDI is still a PD diesel.
    Dave R (h5djr)
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    A3 8V 2.0 TDI-184 Sportback Sport s-tronic quattro - Silver + lots of options - my 9th A3

  16. #15
    Neutral

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    34
    great review. i have a 2006 1.9tdi (105bhp) and it sounds awful. cannot wait for my new black edition 2.0tdi to arrive.

  17. #16
    Dorsprung Turch Vechnique

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Glasvegas
    Posts
    162
    Boys over the weekend I found this really good article that explains the whole common rail history and Audis eventual switch to it;

    http://uk.cars.yahoo.com/car-reviews...e-1003869.html
    2003 - A3 Volcanic Black 1.6i 8L
    2004 - A3 Ming Blue 1.8TQ 8L
    2005 - A3 Dolphin Grey 2.0FSI 8P
    2006 - Driving sabbatical ;-)
    2007 - A3 Ibis White 2.0TFSI 8p
    2009 - A3 Monza Silver BE 2.0 TDI 8p

  18. #17
    Neutral

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    34

    thanks

    great review. i have an '06 1.9tdi and it sounds AWFUL. i am about 6 weeks away fromdelivery of the "black edition" 2.0tdi 170ps and am hoping after reading reviews that its a lot quieter. bloody hope so as its a company car that will have to be withme for 3 years.

    i have spanked it out with : lumbar, heated seats, electric mirrors, upgraded stereo, parking sensors.


  19. #18
    Quote Originally Posted by bingobongo123 View Post
    great review. i have an '06 1.9tdi and it sounds AWFUL. i am about 6 weeks away fromdelivery of the "black edition" 2.0tdi 170ps and am hoping after reading reviews that its a lot quieter. bloody hope so as its a company car that will have to be withme for 3 years.

    i have spanked it out with : lumbar, heated seats, electric mirrors, upgraded stereo, parking sensors.

    I've now had my new A3 Sportback 2.0TDI-140 for just a couple of weeks and the difference in the engine is very noticable. It's so much quieter and smoother than my previous A3 with the PD170 engine. I'm sure you will be happy with your new one, especially when compared with the old 1.9 engine.
    Dave R (h5djr)
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    A3 8V 2.0 TDI-184 Sportback Sport s-tronic quattro - Silver + lots of options - my 9th A3

 

 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO

Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO