Rear Wheels Rubbing with Aftermarket Alloys

g1pkn

Reaction score
Hi there can newbie here, can anybody help i have some new rs4 replica alloy wheels with a bit more offset than standard ones on a facelift s3 and the rears rub when driven a bit firmly :eyebrows:.

I have had a look and it seems as if it could be just a torque screw on the back bumper it just catches on ? Has anyone else had this rubbing when putting spacers on or using these replicas and does taking the screw out solve it or does that hold the back bumper on ? ?

Thanks in advance

Great site by the way been really helpful !

I had rubbing on the rear, so took the screw out and filed that bit down. Its done the trick :)

P.S. The screw isnt really holding the bumper on, well it is, but removing wont mean it drops down. The other screws hold it tight and its a very snug fit.

Ive had mine out for a good few months and the bumper is as tight as the day i removed it :)

See here: http://www.audi-sport.net/vb/showthread.php?t=56709

This is a daft question but did you file the head of the screw or take a chunk off the side of the screw ?

Would you file it or just take it out ?

I took the screw out completley, but where the screw sits, the bumper part protrudes, so i filed that down flush so it was flat all the way across, Now theres no rubbing :)

Hope this helps! - If not, take the screw out and have a look, all will become obvious :thumbsup:

Take the screw out completely, and file down the lug part of the platic bumper - no interference then

Thanks for your help, did a dremmel type tool do the job for you then ?

did you have to have your wheels off and the car in the air ?

do you think i could do it in situe ? ie leave the screw in and file both the side or the screw and plastic lug at the same time