Aargh!! Why didn't he look before he pulled out!

Cootie

Reaction score
Well, courtesy of someone not looking properly before he turned right across the traffic I've now got a shattered front grille, along with a buckled bonnet and front drivers side wing. :mad:

The guy in his 98 Ford Focus pulled out from a car park to turn right, but his view was completely obstructed by a coach which meant he couldn't see me coming up the outside lane. Slammed the brakes on but there wasn't enough space to brake and I hit his front drivers side wing at about 15mph. Buckled his front wheel so his car is immobilised, but guess he won't be too concerned given it's a 10 year old car and not in the best of nick. I'm majorly p*ssed off though!

Will be interesting to see what the insurance company make of it, but thankfully it's a company car so not an issue in terms of cost of repair, excess etc.

Whilst I am not a lawyer, I understand that you have right of way over anyone not on the highway. Since this guy was pulling out of a car park the default position should be that he was at fault, and so his insurance should pay out. Did you get the names of any witnesses? That should seal the deal.

Good luck,
Dan

I know exactly how you feel mate. I had someone slam into the back of me in my old A3 whilst stationary at some traffic lights. He had an old Renault 19 so the front end of the car crumbled however, the bracket on the inside of my rear bumber came through resulting in having to have a new one fitted.

The fact the guy couldn't see past the coach and still pulled out he shouldn't stand a chance other than be in the wrong. Did the coach driver also see what happened?

It's the inconvenience of having to call the insurance company etc that p***** you off too and the length of time it takes to complete.