Old to New, S3 8L to S3 8P

AL_B

Reaction score
Hi guys,

Just thought I'd record some initial thoughts.

I picked my new S3 up from Links Audi Macclesfield on Saturday (21-04-07)morning 10:00am on the dot.

It was a great experience at Links Audi, a dealership that has been renowned for years in the North West for excellent customer service and a friendly, family atmosphere. I've been using them for 8+ years now.

They made it special by having the car covered, and once all paper work was sorted, we unveiled it.

See Gallery: http://audi-sport.net/gallery/showgallery.php?cat=558&ppuser=150

The car was gleaming. Even though I had specified to Links:- just remove the plastic protective coverings, remove residual glue, jet wash and leave to dry. No sponges, no hydro blades etc etc. Hence, no swirls or fine scratches in my new paint! They had done as I asked.

So we where shown around the car. When I opened the door and saw the bucket seats, we (me and the missus) knew we'd made a good choice, they look awesome. We then sat in the car whilst the salesman explained some of the different features of the car compared to my S3 8L.

I was well impressed by the updated DIS functions. Oil temp being a good one, digital speedo and lap timer for on a track.

Eventually it was time to go. And nervously we headed off out of Macclesfield, up towards Whalley Bridge on to Buxton and then up over the Cat & Fiddle road back to Macclesfield. These are twisty A-roads with long straights.

What a superb car this is. Even though I was keeping the revs to a self-inflicted maximum of 4000 rpm, you can feel the potential of this car. It wants to go faster. But even in high gears like 4th and 5th, at 50-60 mph, the grunt that the car has is amazing. Comparing it to the demonstrator that I drove in January, this car is much smoother, no lag, and picks up from around 2200-2400 rpm.