AH FabricationsJMB Retrofits
Results 1 to 21 of 21
  1. #1
    Neutral

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    99

  2. # ADS
    ADS
    Join Date
    Always
    Posts
    Many
     
  3. #2
    JamS3's Avatar
    6th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Stockton-on-Tees
    Posts
    2,248
    I think they liked it...
    NOW - Audi S3 Facelift - Sprint Blue, RNS-E Sat Nav, SDS, Bluetooth Phone Prep, Bose, Cruise, Buckets, FBMFSW, Adaptive Lights, Int Light Pack, Tyre Pressure Monitor, Piano Black Inserts, Through Load, Auto Dim RV Mirror/Wing, Auto Wipers/Lights, Folding Door Mirrors, Heated Seats, Ipod Dock, Front Arm Rest, Rear/Front Parking Sensors, 1st Aid Kit, Rear Arm Rest, H + R Springs, Front 15mm Spacers, Rear 10mm Spacers.

  4. #3
    6th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    2,538
    Last edited by MarcQuinlivan; 7th May 2009 at 20:09.

  5. #4
    Neutral

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    99
    Quote Originally Posted by MarcQuinlivan
    I've not bought it yet, but hopefully the Audi Press Office supplied them with a better car than the one they gave Auto Express - garish red leather and wooden inlays.
    looks like black interior from the picture on the site.

  6. #5
    6th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    2,538
    Last edited by MarcQuinlivan; 7th May 2009 at 20:10.

  7. #6
    JohnS3's Avatar
    6th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    3,021
    You get brushed ali inserts as standard, but you can spec the piano black as a no cost extra.


  8. #7
    3rd Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Chepstow, South Wales
    Posts
    620
    I read the review - it sounds fab! (And it sounds like they liked it a lot too)

  9. #8
    benw123's Avatar
    Moderator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Herts, UK
    Posts
    1,863
    "The best car Audi has ever made". Praise indeed!
    2004 A3 Sportback 2.0TDI SE, RNS-E Sat Nav SW0650 TMC, 17" Star Alloys, Xenons, DIS, Rear Mats & Sunblind, Alu trim, Ebony Black pearlescent
    2006 Honda Accord EX i-CTDI, Arctic Blue, Leather, Sat Nav, XCarLink

  10. #9
    Neutral

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    67
    Do the chrome air vent surrounds fit normal A3's? Anyone know how much and if they're easy to fit? Might be a nice OEM mod?
    Audi A3 Sportback Ibis White TDI170 S-Line - RNS-E - BOSE - Leather - Xenons - Auto Lights and Wipers - Interior Light Pack - Parking Sensors

  11. #10
    AL_B's Avatar
    6th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Warrington, Northwest England
    Posts
    1,564
    I rushed out and bought the mag. Its a superb review. In fact, the first 4 paragraphs speak the truth about the 8L S3 and reasons for buying it, and then continues on to the 8P S3. At last a car reviewer that understands 1) what the concept of an S car is and 2) the market. The S3 (old and new) is a niche area, quality, and performance, and 4wd.

    I went on a bit of a car mag frenzy today actually, buying Autocar, Car and Evo. Not bought Car for many years and now I remember why. Car is not as favourable about the new S3 as what Autocar is. In fact Car pretty much slates it, "not fun".

    Interestingly though, both mags say the turbo isn't too laggy. Which isn't what I felt when I drove one.

    Still, the Autocar review has got me dribbling at the mouth now for my new S3!!!!!!

    AL
    '07 Phantom Black S3 - '07 to now - Bucket Seats, FBMFSW, BOSE, Symphony II+, Cruise Control, Elec Folding Mirrors, Front Centre Armrest, Rear Armrest & Through Load, Interior Light Pack, Luggage Pack, Reversible Boot Mat, Luggage net.
    '02 Silver S3 (225bhp) - '02 to '07
    '99 A3 1.8T - '99 to '02

    '11 Rising Blue Golf R - '12 to now - 19" Black Talladega's
    '52 Black Golf GTi MkIV Anniversary - '03 to '12

  12. #11
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Bristol. United Kingdom
    Posts
    233
    Quote Originally Posted by AL_B

    Still, the Autocar review has got me dribbling at the mouth now for my new S3!!!!!!

    AL
    Just read the review online. Nice.

    I want my S3 too!!! And I have over a month before it even gets built. Nuts.
    12- A1 1.6TDI Sport Sportback Misano Red/Black, Black/Grey Tornado, Xenons, Tech Pack, Mobile Prep High, Bose, Rear Park, Cruise, Dim Mirror, Climate, LED Lights, Armrest
    07-12 S3 Sprint Blue, Leather & Buckets, Flat MFSW, Armrest & Phone Prep, Rear Park, Dim & Fold Mirror, Tyre Warn, Sunband, Interior Light, Cruise, Hill hold, Auto Light & Rain, Bose, Sat Nav+, iPod
    01-07 S3 Dolphin Grey, Blue/Black Alcantara, Bose, Armrest, CD, Cruise, Ali Mirrors, Heated Seats
    00-01 A3 1.8TQ Sport Red, Bose

  13. #12
    Beddie's Avatar
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    239
    Quote Originally Posted by galewis
    Do the chrome air vent surrounds fit normal A3's? Anyone know how much and if they're easy to fit? Might be a nice OEM mod?
    They do fit mate and are a simple 'prise out and shove in' mod and i really fancied some myself until the parts guy at the local dealer wanted to take 70 off me for EACH ONE!!!

    I sorta went off them after that......

  14. #13
    jamiekip
    Guest
    Good review.... only 2 weeks to go till mine arrive..... this article did not help.... it's going to be the longest 2 weeks!!!

  15. #14
    markwiggy's Avatar
    Third Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    North West
    Posts
    1,125
    Praise indeed !!! for what is a fine car IMO.
    07 S3 Sprint Blue Now Sold
    12 Range Rover Evoque Dynamic Now sold
    A3 20 TDI S-Line Sportback in Daytona Grey with Aluminium Roof Rails, Fine Nappa Leather, Sat Nav, Comfort pack,Audi Sound System, Folding Mirrors, Heated Seats, Privacy Glass, Interior Light Pack, Non Smoke Pack.

  16. #15
    prt57's Avatar
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    243
    2 weeks, one day, 10 hours and 22 minutes until I get my hands on my new S3!!

    prt

  17. #16
    jamiekip
    Guest
    wooo hooo i'm 2 days before you - first thing March 1st!!!
    I can not wait!

  18. #17
    Jos
    Neutral

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Lisbon, Portugal
    Posts
    33
    The most impressive review of the S3! My old brother had his S3 in '99 and back then, in the group tests the S3 was never there.
    Looks like this one is going in the same way, they seem to talk more about the TT or the GTI in the hot hatch area, like in the previous model.
    I don't care, it's an awesome car, and it is underated.
    Nevertheless, maybe the review is just a little bit too good...
    In my opinion, what separates the S3 from greatness, are a more distinctive bodywork, better standard seats, and better exclusive rims.

    It should be a little more wider, with a bumper like the old one, an even more agressive front spoiler, and side skirts like the old one or the allroad.

    Anyways, mine was ordered last week, so let the worst part begin, waiting...

  19. #18
    klauster's Avatar
    5th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Leeds
    Posts
    1,140
    all of you that are waiting will be pleased to know that it really is great, subtle styling (but you still turn heads) lovely interior. but best of all some impressive performance and great sound when you give it some... 2.5k miles and counting!

    I am loving it!

  20. #19
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Bristol. United Kingdom
    Posts
    233
    Actually best of all might be that some of us may get our cars early. I was at the dealer on Saturday and they are getting cars around 2 weeks early (based on initial build weeks), they reckon that Audi's estimated build dates are extremely conservative...
    12- A1 1.6TDI Sport Sportback Misano Red/Black, Black/Grey Tornado, Xenons, Tech Pack, Mobile Prep High, Bose, Rear Park, Cruise, Dim Mirror, Climate, LED Lights, Armrest
    07-12 S3 Sprint Blue, Leather & Buckets, Flat MFSW, Armrest & Phone Prep, Rear Park, Dim & Fold Mirror, Tyre Warn, Sunband, Interior Light, Cruise, Hill hold, Auto Light & Rain, Bose, Sat Nav+, iPod
    01-07 S3 Dolphin Grey, Blue/Black Alcantara, Bose, Armrest, CD, Cruise, Ali Mirrors, Heated Seats
    00-01 A3 1.8TQ Sport Red, Bose

  21. #20
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Posts
    190
    I have never had so many people look at a car I have owned.

    I've lost count the amount of people who have stopped on the street and whipped out phones and cameras to take a pic of it.

    It's embarrassing sitting in traffic somewhere public and having people staring in your direction to be honest..God knows what 911 drivers must feel like!!


    07 S3 sold and replaced with E92 335 coupe

  22. #21
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Bristol. United Kingdom
    Posts
    233

    Wink

    Quote Originally Posted by Irish
    I have never had so many people look at a car I have owned.

    I've lost count the amount of people who have stopped on the street and whipped out phones and cameras to take a pic of it.

    It's embarrassing sitting in traffic somewhere public and having people staring in your direction to be honest..God knows what 911 drivers must feel like!!
    I know what you mean, when I had my current S3 when it was new I would get 1 in 2 drivers take a look an gawp. The worst thing was going near the city centre on a weekend, it was just stupid. Now its more like 1 in 50.

    I had loads of people taking a look when i was out testdriving and that was for just 4 hours. Crazy. Although one was a new sprint blue S6 and i was gazing back!

    What you want to watch out for is the 'i'll park next to you as i'm then cool' brigade.

    Go off and try it one day by parking at the other end of the car supermarket/mall/shopping centre on your own, you will come back to find suddenly your car has lots of friends to keep it company!

    Its quite funny!
    12- A1 1.6TDI Sport Sportback Misano Red/Black, Black/Grey Tornado, Xenons, Tech Pack, Mobile Prep High, Bose, Rear Park, Cruise, Dim Mirror, Climate, LED Lights, Armrest
    07-12 S3 Sprint Blue, Leather & Buckets, Flat MFSW, Armrest & Phone Prep, Rear Park, Dim & Fold Mirror, Tyre Warn, Sunband, Interior Light, Cruise, Hill hold, Auto Light & Rain, Bose, Sat Nav+, iPod
    01-07 S3 Dolphin Grey, Blue/Black Alcantara, Bose, Armrest, CD, Cruise, Ali Mirrors, Heated Seats
    00-01 A3 1.8TQ Sport Red, Bose

 

 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO

Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO