EM TuningChris Nott
    Reverse Gear

Status

Company car - buying

I'm new to company cars so any advice is appreciated.

I'm just about to take out a lease on an Audi A3 TDI (170) S Tronic. There is a 36 and 48 month term avail, I've gone for the latter as the monthly payments are approx 25 less and I'm pretty sure that I'll be out of this company by mid-2008.

The question I have is what kind of buy back offer could I expect from the lease company (Lombard) assuming the following:

Car is 2 years old with 40k miles on the clock. I've tried to ask them but they will not commit to a price so I just want a ball park figure. The car as it stands has a BIK value of 22,392.. and if the buy back price is favourable I might spec out the car to keep e.g. better stereo, light pack etc..

Cheers

2. # ADS
    ADS

6th Gear

Status
    In our experience,leasing companies always want more than you can get for the same car on the open market.
    We've offered to buy several cars over the years,but we've yet to actually go through with it.
    For example,we offered to buy my '02 A4 1.9tdi (130) sport at the end of it's three years,as one of our clients wanted to buy it from us.
    The leasing company wanted 13k,which was daft.
    There were better spec ones on the open market for less.

Our experiences aren't just restricted to one company either.
    They all seem to have over-inflated ideas of what their cars are worth after three years.

I have no idea why this is.
    My personal opinion is that they either try and take advantage of the fact you evidently want the car,or they assume you're too daft/lazy to check the open market.
    Last edited by Amchlolor; 4th December 2006 at 11:40.
    '02 to '05 - Black Audi A4 1.9tdi sport
    '05 to '08 - Akoya Silver A3 sportback S-line DSG
    '08 to ? - Black Alpina D3

Status