URGENT QUESTION RE IPOD CONSOLE

galewis

Reaction score
Hi... another newbie here. About to place my order for a white 170TDI S-LINE SB today. I'm thinking about music. I don't like auto changers, and so am thinking about getting an IPOD and the IPOD CONSOLE, which I understand goes in the glovebox? Is there somewhere for the IPOD to fix into to stop it rattling around in the glovebox? How do you know what track/album you're listening to, as you can't see the IPOD display if it's in the glovebox? Does it show up on the Concert II display, assuming there is a display on the Concert II (standard fit on the S-LINE)?

It says in the literature that the IPOD is controllable via the radio. Does this mean over the airwaves and you tune a radio channel in to pick up the signal, like with old retrofit cd autochangers? Is it essential to have the multifunction steering wheel if using an IPOD?

Sorry about the number of questions, but it seems like the way to go for me, unless you can't tell what track your listening to, in which case I'll have to have another think about it.

I assume the Concert II can play MP3 burnt to CD? Can it also handle WMA?

Thanks

Gary

Hi Gary, I have connected up my MP3 player to the Concert head unit. I don't have the MF steering wheel, but can adjust volume, treble, bass, etc, plus skip tracks, ffd, rwd.

I do have to open the glove box to change the album/artist/genre though. Got round that by putting together playlists.

The Concert will play CD's burnt from both MP3 and WMA formats.

Good luck with the car - what made you choose white? You and many other posters on here are going for it.

Just to clarify, the concert II will not play mp3's or wma's. It will play cd's that are recorded from mp3's, but it needs to be in an audio cd format, not just mp3's dragged onto a cd.

The ipod track name does not appear on the concert or DIS either, you need to look at the ipod screen to see track names

Tim Stuart said: