AH FabricationsJMB Retrofits
Results 1 to 23 of 23
Like Tree14Likes
  • 3 Post By Marc8490
  • 1 Post By gogz s3
  • 2 Post By Ron burgundy
  • 1 Post By Marc8490
  • 1 Post By Marc8490
  • 1 Post By S3 AEX
  • 2 Post By ROB A3 Quattro
  • 1 Post By Compkiler
  • 1 Post By DriverN00B
  • 1 Post By Sayam

Thread: Opinions please solar orange and Finest 13 alloys

  1. #1
    Marc8490's Avatar
    Reverse Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Montrose, Scotland
    Posts
    21

    Question Opinions please solar orange and Finest 13 alloys

    I personally love my car with these alloys, and im quite happy my order of 3sdm's 0.01 had to be cancelled (waited 2 month's for them), these were my 2nd choice but now im wondering why they weren't my 1st.

    Just wondered what everybody else thought of them.

    Ive got AP coilovers waiting to be fitted but Churchill insurance won't cover me for them, insurance with them ends in 6 weeks so ill be renewing with somebody who will cover me, ill get updated pictures once the coilovers are on.










    Last edited by Marc8490; 6th June 2014 at 18:58.
    S3 AEX, gogz s3 and RS3dan like this.

  2. # ADS
    ADS
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Global
    Posts
    Many
     
  3. #2
    gogz s3's Avatar
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Morayshire
    Posts
    192

    My Social Networking

    Visit gogz s3's Instagram Channel
    Stunning example you have there, sir
    Marc8490 likes this.
    Audi S3, Sprint Blue, Black Edition

  4. #3
    Ron burgundy's Avatar
    2nd Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    413

    Opinions please solar orange and rotiform blq

    Hmmm...I personally think that these full on polished alloys only look ok on a black or grey car, darker coloured cars etc

    As long as you like them that's all that matters...

    Edit: I prefer the 3sdm too

    I'm sorry man

    Lovely car though
    Last edited by Ron burgundy; 6th June 2014 at 18:36. Reason: typo
    Marc8490 and grchmason like this.
    Some people deserve to have eggs thrown at them....brick shaped eggs...made out of brick.

    Grilled Haloumi....mmmmm

  5. #4
    Marc8490's Avatar
    Reverse Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Montrose, Scotland
    Posts
    21
    Quote Originally Posted by Ron burgundy View Post
    Hmmm...I personally think that these full on polished alloys only look ok on a black or grey car, darker coloured cars etc

    As long as you like them that's all that matters...

    Edit: I prefer the 3sdm too

    I'm sorry man

    Lovely car though
    The world would be a boring place is everybody liked the same thing I suppose.
    Ron burgundy likes this.

  6. #5
    Marc8490's Avatar
    Reverse Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Montrose, Scotland
    Posts
    21
    edited the heading, I keep calling them rotiform's there actually Finest 13 (a german company) near enough identical to the rotiform's

    having never heard of the company before I was a bit unsure about buying them but being Germany im sure they'll be good enough, only time will tell

  7. #6
    Ron burgundy's Avatar
    2nd Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    413
    They remind of a wheel from the late 80s possibly early 90s .....it may of been on the early golf convertibles, they looked nice...it's a nice wheel, I think they would look really nice done in anthracite with your colour car..
    Some people deserve to have eggs thrown at them....brick shaped eggs...made out of brick.

    Grilled Haloumi....mmmmm

  8. #7
    Ron burgundy's Avatar
    2nd Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    413
    Quote Originally Posted by Marc8490 View Post
    edited the heading, I keep calling them rotiform's there actually Finest 13 (a german company) near enough identical to the rotiform's

    having never heard of the company before I was a bit unsure about buying them but being Germany im sure they'll be good enough, only time will tell
    What was the price difference between these and rotiform's?

    If don't mind me asking of course ...
    Some people deserve to have eggs thrown at them....brick shaped eggs...made out of brick.

    Grilled Haloumi....mmmmm

  9. #8
    Marc8490's Avatar
    Reverse Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Montrose, Scotland
    Posts
    21
    The finest 13's were about £200 more
    Ron burgundy likes this.

  10. #9
    S3 AEX's Avatar
    1st Gear

    Status
    Online
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    218
    I think it looks spot on mate, i would being in the solar orange club myself . I personally don't like black or anthracite on the solars it's to much. I think the chrome look really nice and complement the mirrors and car perfectly!!
    Marc8490 likes this.

  11. #10
    Ron burgundy's Avatar
    2nd Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    413

    Opinions please solar orange and Finest 13 alloys

    Not a fan of black either ....at least with anthracite you still get a nice shine off them at night like polished alloys when the lights hit them...
    Last edited by Ron burgundy; 6th June 2014 at 20:56. Reason: ...
    Some people deserve to have eggs thrown at them....brick shaped eggs...made out of brick.

    Grilled Haloumi....mmmmm

  12. #11
    ROB A3 Quattro's Avatar
    no smoke without poke

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    145
    Look good bit of a mare to keep clean but suppose all alloys are ;-)
    voorhees and Marc8490 like this.

  13. #12
    2nd Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Berkshire
    Posts
    341
    Not my cup of tea !!!! But then again really need to see them in flesh.

    Look forward to more pics!

    AUDI S3 SPRINT BLUE 2010 TFSI QUATTRO

  14. #13
    Marc8490's Avatar
    Reverse Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Montrose, Scotland
    Posts
    21
    Quote Originally Posted by ROB A3 Quattro View Post
    Look good bit of a mare to keep clean but suppose all alloys are ;-)
    Yeh gave them 2 coats of wax before i fitted them, not easy getting in about some bits

  15. #14
    Mr. B's Avatar
    English...not so good

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Bristol
    Posts
    942
    I don't know if it's the height or the photos or the thick tires, but this in my own worthless opinion has to be the worst alloy/color comb I have ever seen on a solar orange. Such a stunning motor, come dude you can do better than that. Have a quick search on Google for some inspiration. There is a clear difference between being unique and... well you know the rest. But hey as they all say, as long as... no sorry I can't finish that line lol.


  16. #15
    5th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Plymouth
    Posts
    1,141
    Too much of an Essex car for me, stands out far too much.

    S3's are supposed to be subtle, you know, wolf in sheeps clothing..

    Set of 19 inch rotors would go nice tho I'd think. There's a reason most people stick to OEM.

  17. #16
    Marc8490's Avatar
    Reverse Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Montrose, Scotland
    Posts
    21
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr. B View Post
    I don't know if it's the height or the photos or the thick tires, but this in my own worthless opinion has to be the worst alloy/color comb I have ever seen on a solar orange. Such a stunning motor, come dude you can do better than that. Have a quick search on Google for some inspiration. There is a clear difference between being unique and... well you know the rest. But hey as they all say, as long as... no sorry I can't finish that line lol.
    Tyre's are 225/40 same as standard, ride height will be sorted in 6 weeks and ill update pictures when done

    Over all not getting a great reaction to this set up so far :/

  18. #17
    Compkiler's Avatar
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    150
    Tbh bud, everyone has different opinions so asking what people think really is a mine field lol.
    The main thing here is.... Do you like them? If you like them and would be happy, and when driving makes you feel good? Put em on ������
    Marc8490 likes this.

  19. #18
    Marc8490's Avatar
    Reverse Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Montrose, Scotland
    Posts
    21
    Quote Originally Posted by Compkiler View Post
    Tbh bud, everyone has different opinions so asking what people think really is a mine field lol.
    The main thing here is.... Do you like them? If you like them and would be happy and when driving makes you feel good? Put em on ������
    I know by getting opinions i risked bad reactions, but yeh i like them and they'll be staying on, might think about getting them powder coated a different colour for next summer

  20. #19
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    245
    I like how they look, something different! Rotors are far too common, keep these on mate!

    Will look even better once the coilovers are on.
    Marc8490 likes this.

  21. #20
    2nd Gear

    Status
    Online
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    333
    I'm a big advocate of if you like it then eff everyone else's opinion

    Car looks beautiful and this is a criticism of rotiform wheels in general but for me they are just too 'busy' in the middle.

    I vote for 18" OEM rotors dropped nice (not too much) on coilys it will look spot on.

    I think these wheels being polished and the car bright too is a little much. Maybe a darker grey/black wheel would give a more aggressive look?
    Compkiler likes this.

  22. #21
    Ron burgundy's Avatar
    2nd Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    413

    Opinions please solar orange and Finest 13 alloys

    Quote Originally Posted by Marc8490 View Post
    I know by getting opinions i risked bad reactions, but yeh i like them and they'll be staying on, might think about getting them powder coated a different colour for next summer
    Anthracite is a nice colour if you was to powder coat them in the future...really think it goes well with bright colours like solar orange and sepang blue etc
    Last edited by Ron burgundy; 7th June 2014 at 14:47. Reason: add
    Some people deserve to have eggs thrown at them....brick shaped eggs...made out of brick.

    Grilled Haloumi....mmmmm

  23. #22
    DAN@ADRIAN FLUX's Avatar
    Neutral

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    59
    Love it!

    I personally would have them in satin/matt black but all the same it's looking awesome.

    If you need any help with the insurance please do give me a shout - I'm sure I can arrange a competitive price for you.

    Cheers

    Jordan

  24. #23
    leeds2592's Avatar
    When I grow up, I want a 964!

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Leeds
    Posts
    1,180

    My Social Networking

    Visit leeds2592's Instagram Channel
    I don't think they're too 'bling' at all.

    Once it's lowered, they'll look much better IMO.
    Black 2007 2.0 FSI Sport
    2011 Glossy Black RNS-E |AP Coilovers | 18" 7 Spoke OEM BE Alloy Wheels | H&R Trak+ Spacers 8mm (Front) 12mm (Rear) | MY11 Rear Lights | S Line Spoiler | Retrofitted MFSW | Retrofitted Cruise Control | Interior LED Light Pack | OEM LED Numberplate Bulbs

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. hi, few problems and opinions please
    By lanceneoman in forum A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 22nd October 2012, 18:22
  2. 19" Rotiform BLQ Style alloy wheels and Tyres Band New £ 775.00
    By jambofuz in forum For Sale/Wanted - Audi Parts
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 15th April 2012, 01:00
  3. Right before I go and sell wheels, opinions please?
    By aidank1981 in forum A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 1st January 2011, 23:04
  4. Solar Orange S3 Opinions Needed!
    By hufcforpromotion in forum A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 10th August 2009, 21:29
  5. Engine power and spec, BHP etc and opinions please
    By TonyT in forum A6/S6/Allroad forum (C5 Chassis)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 23rd October 2006, 11:29

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO

Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO