S3 8P clutch or flywheel problems I guess. Any help would be greatly appreciated

S3Colin

Reaction score
Yesterday when on a long drive home it got a problem with my S3. I had been driving it for about 100 miles on the motorway then when I came off and I was driving it in the country roads, I got an issue.

I was was driving it quite quick and was shifting down gear and braking at the same time. I felt a big vibration from my clutch pedal then a constant vibration. I then slowed right down and every time I now take my foot off the accelerator, I get vibrations from the clutch pedal and a grinding noise front the engine. Also when the car is idling it also vibrates slightly until I put my clutch pedal in.

Any advice would be great. My car is an 58reg standard S3 8P sportback with 50k on the clock.

Sounds like your DMF may be failing but I'm no expert.

From what I'm reading it looks like it may be this. If so, should I do the clutch and DMF together?

I have also been looking up and think that the Sachs clutch seems to be the most popular option but I'm slightly confused on DMF or single.

Anyone know any good places to get everything done in the Northwest? I've used Awesome GTI on an old S3 but it was a while ago and I've not heard good things about them recently.

I think it's also time for a remap if it's clutch time :) That was really the only thing that was holding me back.

definitely sounds clutch related and not drive train related as it does it on idle. it may also be the release bearing, im pretty sure the S3 has a concentric slave cylinder which is all part of the release bearing, you wont be able to tell much until you have the box off im afraid

Gutted. Oh well. Any idea of the average price of a clutch, flywheel and release bearing with labour?