Service Due - Need Help to Understand Why

yass247

Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm a newbie here, and I'm really hoping someone can help explain why my 2011 S3 is showing as "service due". I've phoned two different Audi dealers and got two different answers. I'd like to understand the servicing better so I don't get ripped off.

The car turned three years old this month and has done about 28,000 miles. I bought the car about six months ago and was given a print out of the service history. It states that the current service regime is "New Longlife". It had an oil change June 2013 at 24,000 miles. It had an inspection service August 2012 at 15,000 miles. When I turn on the ignition it now states that the service is due, but I'm not sure why. I checked the DIS a few weeks ago and it showed:

Oil change in 6100 miles, 99 days
Service in 15700 miles, 9 days

I guess the 9 days has counted down to zero and that's why it states service due, but I don't understand it. It's been 19 months since the last inspection service, so if it's time based, why would it show up now as service due? I could understand it if it was 24 months, but it's not. The other weird thing is that the DIS now shows "service in 100 miles". How has it gone from 15700 miles to only 100 miles in a few weeks when the car has only done 200 miles in that time?

I'm very confused and would really appreciate any comments.

Regards,

Chris

I had a few problems with the Long Service Interval thing on mine,and a few hiccups with the indications the DIS was giving,so firstly I don't think the thing is infallible.

One other thing,is a look at the oil coming out of the car at it's first service convinced me that it wasn't a good thing.

Mine has oil changes every 10 000 miles max.

Reactions: s3_trev
Ditch the long life service, and change the oil /service every 10K miles or 1 year.

Hi all,